WAYNE, NJ – Girl Scouts of Northern New Jersey held its Annual Meeting & Adult Recognition Program on May 9, at William Paterson University in Wayne, honoring more than 300 outstanding volunteers across northern New Jersey with more than 600 awards that recognized their donation of time, talent, and leadership in delivering the Girl Scout program to more than 25,000 girls in northern New Jersey.

“At Girl Scouts of Northern New Jersey (GSNNJ), we have thousands of dedicated volunteers who help us prepare girls of courage, confidence, and character to be tomorrow’s leaders,” said Bette M. Simmons, Ed. D., of Morristown, chair of the board of directors for GSNNJ. “Our volunteers are at the heart of everything we do, and are instrumental in helping girls empower themselves, learn valuable life skills, and develop their leadership capabilities. It is an honor to recognize our volunteers for dedicating their time and talent to Girl Scouting.”

Barbara Lobasso of Montville was honored for volunteering for 15 years with the Girl Scouts.

Sign Up for E-News

Lory Wolf of Butler was honored with the Thanks Badge. A Girl Scout volunteer for 18 years, Lory is her community’s service unit manager. She loves to work with other troop leaders and foster teamwork in Butler. Her true passion is hiking and backpacking, and she leads this special interest group for Girl Scouts of Northern New Jersey. The hiking and backpacking group meets throughout the year and hikes throughout northern New Jersey. This past year, Wolf taught hiking and outdoor survival skills to her group of over 100 members.

The Honor Pin, awarded to individuals who have provided outstanding service to two or more communities, was presented to Janet Boetticher of Jefferson. Boettticher embodies all of the Girl Scout values and shares her passion for Girl Scouts with other parents, leaders, and service unit managers. She leads a troop in her community and another troop for underserved girls in another community. She recently served as a delegate for GSNNJ at the National Council Session for Girl Scouts of the USA.

The Appreciation Pin, given to those volunteers and leaders performing beyond the expectations of the position, was awarded to Genevieve Anderson, Jenny Asral, and Sally Lorusso of Florham Park; Cindy Keegan of Bloomingdale; Kay Lang of Morristown; and Valerie Perugini of Mount Olive. Serving their communities in lead volunteer capacities, the Outstanding Service Team Member award was presented to Julie Capello and Cheryl Fritsch of Washington Township (Morris); Vicki Christie of Jefferson; Pattie Ledford Carta and Jonie McDonnell of Morristown; Toni Marie Marzullo of East Hanover; Susan Rodriguez of Butler; Nicole Semler of Randolph; and Ana Viegas of East Hanover.

The Volunteer of Excellence award was presented to Kathy Abbott, Heather Bohl, Susannah Doherty, and Laura Ranji of Chatham; Kimberly Allonardo, Kathy Cincotta, and Carol Stox of East Hanover; Cathyrn Aspelund, Stephanie Plaskow, and Stephanie Spillane of Rockaway; Wendy Bergstrand, Leeann Hunchak, Mary Sacco, and Kelly Schreck of Denville; Wendy Bongo, Sandy Cassidy, Susan Ezell, Marcy Funk, and Andrea Mazzocchi of Morristown; Gisela Campanelli, Patricia Collins, Jen Destefano, Christine Errichiello, Diane Fabery-Lavelle, Joanna Kuchavik, and Edina Renfro-Michel of Boonton; and Amon Cassar and Lisa Scheffenhauer of Netcong.

The Rookie of the Year award is given to exceptional Girl Scout leaders who have exemplified Girl Scout values in their first or second year of volunteering. Dawn Caicedo and Alexandria Ceci of Lincoln Park; Laura Cote, Casey Croes, Christine Draghi, Stephanie Hughes, Tara Reilly, Maria Reiner, Susan Russell, Genevieve Sumski, and Jennifer Thomas of Washington Township (Morris); Ann Dohm, Lynn Gale, and Maria Messana of Parsippany; Monica Eberhardt and Briana Ramsey of Morristown; Tammy Fabish, Elizabeth Moorehouse, and Suzanne Tavolacci of Boonton; Amy Hollner, Rachel Neubauer, and Jackie Obeid of Denville; Denise Jacob of East Hanover; Erica Kolodziej of Chatham; Debra Lanzone of Rockaway; Amy Treacy and Nancy Volker of Morris Plains; and Dana Hade and Anne Witt of Netcong received this honor.

Cindy Huson of Washington Township (Morris), and Karen Longo of Parsippany were honored for 30 years of Girl Scout membership. Receiving the award for 25 years were Eileen Bundz of Lincoln Park; Karen Meyler of Washington Township (Morris); Jessica Mondino of Boonton; Susan Rodriguez of Butler; and Kathleen Scanlon of Jefferson.

Honored for 20 years of membership were Katherine Bickerton of Denville; Debbie Molloy of Parsippany; Valerie Perigini and Kristen Pettenger of Mount Olive; and Eileen Rapach of Washington Township (Morris).

Cathy Beck, Vikki Faluotico, Sandra Kapitula, Lisa Klein, Leslie McGrath, Dorothy Murr, Dawn Stone, and Cassie Witte of Mount Olive; Emily Bohn and Sarah Feyrer of Washington Township (Morris); Kim Coward of Randolph; Amy Dericks and Darlene Mulligan of Pequannock; Alison Dforza and Kelly Schreck of Denville; Eileen Gabarini of Rockaway; Beth Gillespie and Smita Patel of Parsippany; Dawn Gosson of Riverdale; Dorothy Santasieri of Jefferson; and Chris Sirica of Lincoln Park reached 15 years of membership.

Girl Scouts is the premier leadership development program for girls. In Girl Scouts, girls discover themselves, connect with others, and take action to create positive change in their own communities. For more information about Girl Scouts, call the Girl Scouts of Northern New Jersey at 973-248-8200.

Girl Scouts of Northern New Jersey serves girls ages 5-18 in 160 municipalities in Bergen, Morris, Passaic, Sussex and northern Warren counties. There are currently over 25,000 girl members.

Visit and read your exclusive Montville news at TAPinto Montville​ 24/7 for FREE: TAPinto​Montville​.net 

Sign up to receive FREE TAPinto news in your email inbox: www.tapinto.net/enews

Follow TAPinto on Twitter: @MontvilleTAP 

Like us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/MontvilleTAP/

​​Download the FREE TAPinto App!  Click here for Android - Click here for iOS to get news as it is happening.