MONTVILLE, NJ – Superintendent of the Montville Township Public Schools René Rovtar said that the schools were off to a successful start at the Sept. 17 board of education meeting.

“There were a few hiccups with Schoology, the new learning management system, which we’re working on,” she said.

The system will be used as a home for all course materials in one place, much like a class notebook, according to an email sent out to parents. 

Sign Up for Montville Newsletter
Our newsletter delivers the local news that you can trust.

The district said in an email that they are looking forward to the increased communication and engagement that Schoology will offer.

Business Administrator Katine Slunt said that the HVAC system is being networked.

New student-board liaisons were introduced at the meeting. Srikar Gudimella is president of the class of 2020 and CJ Arena is the Student Activities Council president.

High School News

In June, nine boys from Montville Township High School were selected and participated in a leadership and government program called American Legion Jersey Boys State at Rider University. About 950 students from across the state of New Jersey participated in a week filled with lectures on politics and future careers, as well as simulating politics by electing positions at the city, county, and state level. Ryan Moss, Tim Shun, Athletic Director Noah Fox, Councilman Peter Chang, Councilman Ethan Horowitz, Freeholder Andrew Kalemba, County Clerk Matt Krase, and Assemblyman Muthu Ganeesh Arunachalam attended. Senator Kyle Quinn was one of two delegates elected out of almost 1,000 Boys State members to represent New Jersey as a Boys Nation Senator, and went to Boys Nation in Washington D.C. in July. There, he spent 10 days with two delegates from every state in the country, working in a mock 100-person senate to write and pass relevant legislation to our nation, and met figures such as Vice President Mike Pence.

Fewer than 1,000 students every year earn the Academic All American Award out of over 141,000 student members of the National Speech and Debate Association. Cameran Ko, Andrew Lin, Kevin Mao, Mariam Mohsin, Christine Sun, and Jenny Sun earned the National Speech and Debate Associations Academic All American designation. 

Visit and read your exclusive Montville news at TAPinto Montville​ 24/7 for FREE: TAPinto​Montville​.net 

Sign up to receive FREE TAPinto news in your email inbox:

Follow TAPinto on Twitter: @MontvilleTAP 

Like us on Facebook:

​​Download the FREE TAPinto App!  Click here for Android - Click here for iOS to get news as it is happening.