MONTVILLE, NJ – The teachers of the year were honored at the Jan. 21 Montville Township Board of Education meeting.

“Tonight is our evening to recognize our superstars,” Superintendent of Schools René Rovtar said at the meeting. “A school district cannot be successful if we don’t have really excellent teachers and educational services professionals. Tonight we are recognizing the best of the best. These folks have been selected by panels within each school [composed of] teachers – their peers – parents, and administration and we have some wonderful honorees.”

Teachers of the Year:

Sign Up for Montville Newsletter
Our newsletter delivers the local news that you can trust.

  • Cedar Hill - Kevin Haugh
  • Hilldale - Cindy Calligaro
  • Valley View - Kathryn Slattery
  • William Mason - Sonja Khan
  • Woodmont - Brian Quinn
  • Lazar - Jacqueline Keiser
  • MTHS - Christopher Butchko

Educational Services Professional of the Year:

  • Cedar Hill - Jeanne Romeo
  • Hilldale - Colleen Hurley
  • Valley View - Amy Escobar
  • William Mason - Samantha George
  • Woodmont - Patricia Pallay
  • Lazar - Marissa Mazur
  • MTHS - Andrea Wallace

Princeton University Distinguished Secondary School Teacher: James Queen (MTHS)

Photo caption:  Cindy Calligaro, Amy Escobar, Kathryn Slattery, James Queen, Brian Quinn, Patricia Pallay, Christopher Butchko, Andrea Wallace, Sonja Khan, Marissa Mazur, Samantha George, Kevin Haugh, Colleen Hurley

Missing from photo: Cedar Hill - Jeanne Romeo; Lazar - Jacqueline Keiser

Visit and read your exclusive Montville news at TAPinto Montville​ 24/7 for FREE: TAPinto​Montville​.net 

Sign up to receive FREE TAPinto news in your email inbox:

Follow TAPinto on Twitter: @MontvilleTAP 

Like us on Facebook:

​​Download the FREE TAPinto App!  Click here for Android - Click here for iOS to get news as it is happening.