MONTVILLE, NJ - The 2018-19 season was an historic one for the Montville wrestling program.

The squad captured its first sectional title in 10 seasons and only its second in school history, as it won the North 1, Group 3 title. In addition, it sent six wrestlers to the NJSIAA Wrestling Championships in Atlantic City.

And with four of those six wrestlers returning to the mat this season, the Mustangs have their eyes set on a repeat performance.

Sign Up for Montville Newsletter
Our newsletter delivers the local news that you can trust.

"We had a tremendous end of the season last year with winning our second sectional title in school history," coach John Krip said. "This season we are gearing up for the same. We have our kids working hard and have set our goals a little higher this year. We're working on advancing further than we did last season. We have a solid line-up but are light in a couple of classes. Hopefully by the end of the season those weight classes will be filled and we'll be running on all cylinders."

While its top wrestler in Joe Daddario graduated, the Mustangs will be able to count on Noah Fox, Michael Conrad, Brandon Teresa, and Alex Garcia, who all figure to have a role in the upper weights this year. Those four are the four that are back who made it all the way to Atlantic City individually last year, and they'll be counted on to lead the way once again.

In the lighter classes, Montville will be able to count on a trio of wrestlers that had top-three finishes in the District Tournament last season in Aaron Kurzer, Anthony Monetti, and Justin Ciliotta.

Also look for Dan Salzano, Derek Giordano, Bennet Schwartz, Brian Glasser, Billy Templeton, Ryan Kahwaty, Tommy LaScala, Aiyan Ahmed and Mo Gaber to contribute this year.

The team already showed off its strong potential in its season debut last Saturday, when it claimed the Morris Knolls Tournament title for the first time in program history. The Mustangs finished with 171 1/2 total points, which was three points better than South Plainfield, which is a perennial state power.

Four wrestlers won individual titles at the tournament, with Aaron Kurzer (113), Noah Fox (170), Michael Conrad (182), and Michael Marucci (220) all earning some early hardware. Alex Garcia (195) and Justin Ciliotta (126) each reached the finals in their respective classes.

Montville will continue its season when it wrestles in a tournament at Lenape Valley this Saturday at 9 a.m.

Visit and read your exclusive Montville news at TAPinto Montville​ 24/7 for FREE: TAPinto​Montville​.net 

Sign up to receive FREE TAPinto news in your email inbox:

Follow TAPinto on Twitter: @MontvilleTAP 

Like us on Facebook:

​​Download the FREE TAPinto App!  Click here for Android - Click here for iOS to get news as it is happening.