MORRISTOWN, NJ - Much like the Student of the Month, Morristown High School Principal Mark Manning implemented the Heart of a Colonial Award.  Students who are hard-working, responsible, honest, kind or respectful are nominated by their teachers. There is no limit to the number of students nominated each month. 

The name of each nominee is displayed on the bulletin board in the atrium and a letter, from the principal, is sent home,  acknowledging the recognition.  The name of each nominee is then put into a bowl and at the end of the month, Principal Manning picks one name out of the bowl. The student chosen receives a $20 gift certificate, donated by a local business.

In October, 59 MHS students were honored for the "Heart of a Colonial" Award. That number rose to 115 students in December.   January had 34 honorees while February had 89. Thirty five students were honored in March while April saw 76 students honored. In May 60 students were honored. 

Sign Up for E-News

“We wanted to continue working these characteristics into conversations and weave them into our interactions in a constructive way”, said Manning. “The award recognizes students for things that aren’t recognized on a report card but contribute to a positive school environment.”

The following students were recognized in May:

Jose Figueroa

Daniel Fulgenzi


Jonathan Gronke
Cristian Malo
Jorge Lopez
Jose Figueroa
Elber Sanchez Lopez
Grace Lynch
Jeremy Gibson
Elizabeth Stumpf
Justin Tam
Ben Edwards
Isabella Galinkin
Marisa Joel
Owen Sindorf
Rikaluz Ora
Sarah Anderson
Amber Carrington
Kyle Northan
Emma Piasick
Kyle Northan
Marjory Petit Carcamo
Zachary Crowe
Alex Arenas
Derek Hormaza
Katherine James
Alexander Nichols
Cajmir Brown
Jocelyn Barazza
Trevor Stephney
Oscar Vasquez
Andrew Griffiths
Angela Bonilla
Nuria Sroar-Tafalla
Will Hoffman
Kevin Hoehn
Kinsey Thorpe
Lina Hong
Essence Johnson
Karen Quillay
Seyda Reyes
Christina Umanzor Alvarado
Marie Verga
Chase Hampton
Essence Johnson
Juan Garcia
Emely Herrera
Junior Sanchez
Ann Marie Cantarero
Avina Sharma
Megan Sodano
Seyda Reyes Cruz
Kyle Northan
Jha'mil King
Jonathan Granda Acaro
Rachel Reingold
Rommel Montoya
Dan Bertram
Evan Szary
Wiliam Honicky