MORRISTOWN, NJ - Another snow day! Morristown High School seniors can take advantage of this snow day by applying for a scholarship through the Morris Educational Foundation.

The Morris Educational Foundation has announced that they are accepting applications from MHS seniors for 12 scholarships this year. Scholarships are funded by individuals and foundations, and are awarded at the Senior Academic Awards Night each June. 

The JES Scholarship honors two long term residents of Morris Township who believed in education and equal opportunity for all. This scholarship, up to $25,000 annually for 4 years, will be awarded to 1-3 MHS seniors who intend to continue their education at a New Jersey public college. Candidates need to demonstrate financial need, scholastic achievement and willingness to help others. Deadline is March 29, 2018. . Apply here

Sign Up for E-News

The Carl George and Shirley L. Eklund Scholarship is an endowed scholarship that honors Carl George and Shirley L. Eklund, MHS Class of 1939. This scholarship offers financial support for the full 4 years and will be awarded  to a junior student who demonstrates financial need and eagerness to pursue a career in teaching. Deadline is April 13, 2018.  Past recipient includes Ninoska Lopez Medina 2017 Apply here

The Wong Family Scholarship is a $4,000 award per year for up to four years. Robert Wong, MHS Class of 1967 established this scholarship in memory of his parents. The MHS senior must exemplify the traits of scholarship, perserverence, patience, diligence and consideration of others. The recipient must submit evidence of continued eligibility to receive the remaining scholarship payments. Deadline to apply is April 13, 2018.  Past recipients include Isabelle Augenson, 2017; Julia Flores 2016. Apply here

The George and Michele Becker Scholarship is a $3,000 per year award open to all MHS seniors who are pursuing a STEM field in college. Preference will be given to women, underrepresented minorities and students with special needs. The Beckers are longtime Morristown residents who are committed to education and area schools. Previous recipient is Juan S. Victoria Robles, 2017. Deadline is April 13, 2018. Apply here

The James B. Galbraith, Jr. Scholarship was created by the Galbraith family in memory of former MHS biology teacher and Principal, James Galbraith. This award is $1,500 and will be presented to a MHS senior with plans to major in biology at a four year college. Applicants must demonstrate creativity, kindness and an ability to work within a team, attributes the scholarship's namesake valued and possessed. Deadline is April 13, 2018. Apply here

The Mary Bentzlin Scholarship is a $1,000 scholarship open to all students pursuing liberal arts in college studies with a goal towards public service. Mary Blunkett Bentzlin was a teacher in the Morris School District for over 30 years. She taught language arts and writing at Frelinghuysen Middle School. Financial need is a primary consideration for this scholarship. The scholarship must be used to pay tuition and related expenses at an accredited 2 or 4 year college or university. Deadline is April 13, 2018. Apply here

The AT&T Pioneers Scholarship is a $1,000 award given by AT&T Pioneers, which is a nonprofit volunteer organization whose mission is community service. The local organization is a part of the New Jersey Chapter of AT&T Pioneers and consists of AT&T retirees and active employees. Education is one of the primary causes they support. The local chapter decided to create this scholarship for a college bound senior at MHS. Deadline is April 13, 2018. Apply here

The Javier Avelar Scholarship is in memory of Javier Avelar, a MHS graduate who died after an 18 month battle with colon cancer. The scholarship, sponsored by the Golden Bagel Runners, will be awarded annually to a first generation immigrant senior with financial need. Deadline is April 13, 2018. Apply here

The Spring Brook Foundation Scholarship is an award of $3,000 which will be awarded to MHS seniors who demonstrate financial need. Preference will be given to a student with minority background, children of employees of Spring Brook Country Club with a GPA between 2.5 - 3.5 and who demonstrate service to the community. Deadline is April 13, 2018. Apply here

The John T. Cunningham Scholarship will be awarded to a MHS graduating senior who is pursuing a major in the field of communications at a four year college, meeting the criteria of grade point average, related extra curricular activities, teacher recommendations and excellent writing skills. The $1,250 scholarship was established by the MEF for alumnus John T. Cunningham, class of '32. Deadline is April 13, 2018. Previous recipients include Darren Gong, 2017 and Richard Meyer 2016. Apply here

Stephen B. Wiley Scholarship is a two year scholarship which the candidate will receive $4,000 per year of post secondary education. The award is for a MHS or MCST student that can show strong community minded leadership both within school and outside of school. The scholarship recognizes Stephen B. Wiley's leadership and tireless efforts in forging a strong and vibrant school system and significantly strengthened the community. Deadline is April 13, 2018. Previous recipients include Anastasia Bergeron 2017 and Jian Zabalerio 2016. Apply here

The Dorothy F. Johnson Scholarship was created through a bequest from the estate of Dorothy F. Johnson, a 1947 MHS graduate and community leader. The scholarship will be awarded to graduating seniors for two years in the amount of $1,750 per student per year. Students must be taking business administration courses new and intend on pursuing a business administration degree in college. Proof of declared major is required. Deadline is April 13, 2018. Previous recipients include Collin Brunnock 2016 and Cole Shandlay 2015. Apply here

Ruth Marantz Cohen French Award honors Ruth M. Cohen's passion for teaching French. Her husband, Murray established this annual award of $100 for students of French language and literature. Mrs. Cohen taught at MHS for more than 30 years. Students are chosen by the French Department. Applicants must contact the MHS Guidance Department to apply. Past recipients include Dale Kinney 2011 and Katherine Sytwa 2010.

Stevenson Spirit of Humanity Scholarship Award is a one time $5,000 scholarship awarded to a graduating senior and a minority student from MHS who has demonstrated financial need, is community minded, aspires to college and career with a preference to a student who lives in the Collinsville neighborhood. The scholarship must be used to pay tuition an related expenses at an accredited 2 or 4 year college or university. Past recipient include Daniel Palameque in 2016. Contact the MEF for an application.

"As a lead provider of scholarships for deserving Morristown High School students, we are proud to offer so many opportunities for our seniors and the largest award of scholarship dollars to the class", wrote the MEF.  "We work in collaboration with many local organizations and individuals and we thank our scholarship providers for thinking of us as good stewards of your investment".

For more information on the Morris Educational Foundation, click HERE


Sign up to get all the news as it happens at and follow us on Facebook at and on Twitter at @MorristownTAP.

Download the TAPinto App!   Click here for Android.  Click here for iOS