In a heart-breaking defeat, the Public C second seed Highlander boys lost their postseason sectional meet to nearby Bern ards, 91-79.

The Highlander boys showed up with their A game – on; ready to swim hard and fast. Although they didn’t win, Head Coach David Closs expressed that unabashed Highlander pride as he noted his boys swam extremely well, despite falling short on points. He said this was their best meet on record this season. Power points abounding for the Highlanders, Closs tipped his hat to Bernards, "who was just a little bit better than us." Although knocked out of the post season earlier than expected, Closs is still looking ahead and moving on to his MOC swims with the boys in a few weeks.

Noteworthy swims included individual swims from Rafe Barnum, and the performance of his relays – both A’s and B’s. Again, Highlander pride shining through, he expressed mixed feelings as he bids goodbye to his seniors. “They’ve been the core of this team. Just rocks, steady, dependable, unbelievable for four years – Tony Ho, Ryan Lee, Captain David Martinez, Captain Chris Rampaul-Pino, Noam Rotenberg, Jon Sternberg, Zion Tseng, and Captain Robert Wargaski.”

Sign Up for Mountainside Newsletter
Our newsletter delivers the local news that you can trust.

The Meet Results:

200 Medley Relay: 2nd Captain David Martinez, Captain Chris Rampaul-Pino, Andrew Rampaul-Pino, Thomas Sartorio; 3rd Jon Sternberg, Ethan Wong, Alex Moon, Rafe Barnum

200 Free: 1st Hirad Sharifian; 3rd Aidan Forrester

200 IM: 2nd Ethan Wong; 3rd Andrew Rampaul-Pino

50 Free: 3rd Thomas Sartorio; 4th Rafe Barnum

100 Fly: 2nd Captain Chris Rampaul-Pino

100 Free: 1st Hirad Sharifian; 4th Rafe Barnum

500 Free: 2nd Andrew Rampaul-Pino; 3rd Aidan Forrester

200 Free Relay: 2nd Hirad Sharifian, Ethan Wong, Rafe Barnum, Captain David Martinez; 4th Captain Chris Rampaul-Pino, Ryder Zimmerman, William Maciejewski, Aidan Forrester

100 Back: 2nd Thomas Sartorio; 4th Jon Sternberg

100 Breast: 2nd Ethan Wong; 3rd Captain Chris Rampaul-Pino,

400 Free Relay: 1st Hirad Sharifian, Thomas Sartorio, Andrew Rampaul-Pino, Captain David Martinez; 4th Aidan Forrester, Alex Moon, Ryder Zimmerman, William Maciejewski