BERKELEY HEIGHTS, NJ -- Along with recognizing the Educators of the Year at its May 7 meeting, the Board of Education announced and accepted the retirement of 10 district employees. In addition, the board rehired a non- tenured employee and others who will gain tenure during the coming school year.

Those teachers and other employees who will be retiring are:

William Ayres, who taught at Governor Livingston High School for 17 years.

Sign Up for Mountainside Newsletter
Our newsletter delivers the local news that you can trust.

JoAnne Barton, who taught at Woodruff Elementary School for 23 years. 

Laura Doeringer, who taught at Mary Kay McMillin Early Childhood Center for 35 years.

Ellen Massa, a teacher at Hughes Elementary School for 23 years.

Frank Mirabella, a bus driver with the district for the past 14 years.

Catherine Pearsall, a teacher at Hughes Elementary School for 25 years.

Henry Ruban, a bus driver with the district for the past 21 years.

Louise Rucinski, who was a member of the cafeteria staff at Mary Kay McMillin ECC for the past 21 years.

Debora Thedinga, an Interpreter at Governor Livingston High School for 22 years.

Kathleen Watkins, a teacher at Woodruff Elementary School for 37 years.

The board approved the re-employment of Ashley Reedy, a non-tenured secretary.

The Board approved the re-employment of the following non-tenured secretaries who will attain tenure during the time period covered by their next employment contract: Ellen Biskaduros, Donna Cieslinski, and Deborah Koutsaftes.

The board approved the re-employment of Kelly Fitzpatrick, a non-tenured teacher, to fill a vacancy at Thomas P. Hughes Elementary School. She has been employed as a Teacher of Special Education at William Woodruff School since Sept. 1, 2018.