MOUNTAINSIDE, NJ –  The Mountainside Restoration Committee announces that the Deacon Andrew Hetfield House will be open to the public for tours on Sunday, March 15, 2020 from 1:00 – 3:00 pm. Visitors are invited to tour Mountainside’s historic treasure which features a museum displaying Mountainside artifacts. The Deacon Andrew Hetfield House was originally built in 1760 by Andrew Hetfield and underwent at least two additions during the early and late 19th Century. Originally located across Rt. 22 the Hetfield House was moved at least 2 times before it was acquired by the Mountainside Historic Preservation Committee in 1984. In 1985, the house was moved a third time by the Mountainside Restoration Committee to Constitution Plaza near the Mountainside Library where it now sits. During these hours, 1-3pm, the circa 1818 Levi Cory House Village Shop, located next door, will also be open for visitors and shoppers.

In this Mountainside’s 125th Anniversary year, it’s a good time to connect with the history of this great borough. Visitors can arrive at any time between 1:00 – 3:00pm on Sunday, March 15. Tours last from 20-30 minutes and will be ongoing. Anyone who has often wondered what was in that “house by the library”, here’s a chance to find out. Tours are recommended for ages 8 to adult, but all ages are welcome. 

Constitution Plaza is the first right off Birch Hill Road which is off New Providence Road near the Mountainside Volunteer Fire House. The Mountainside Historic Restoration Committee is a committee of volunteers whose purpose is to restore and maintain the Deacon Andrew Hetfield House and the Levi Cory House and collect and save historic information and items from destruction. For further information or to donate funds for historic restoration, please call (908)789-9420; or, go to:  www.mountainsidehistory.org