The Governor Livingston wrestling team is getting ready for its 2019-20 season, which kicks off at an early season tournament in Old Bridge on Saturday, December 21, 2019. Head Coach Richard Ortgega begins his 7th year at the helm with this season being led by many seniors with multiple years of varsity experience.

Ortega’s expects a “young team wanting to get better each day at practice.” He said, “Every day is a new opportunity to work hard and create a winning mentality in the (wrestling) room.”

The wrestling team consists of many senior and junior returners, along with numerous previously injured wrestlers such as juniors Jake Quandt, and Tristan Mikiewicz who ate hoping to compete for upper weights positions.

Sign Up for Mountainside Newsletter
Our newsletter delivers the local news that you can trust.

Senior captain Jeff Stepien wants to see “everyone get better each day during practice and work hard.” Individually he wants to “be the best wrestler I can be, putting up as many bonus points as possible leading by example for the team.”

Ortega also looks for Sophomore Kyle Savino to step up at the 170 weight class. “[Savino] has been dominant in the weight room and has improved dramatically from year 1 to year 2.”

Another senior captain Conner Vill, wants to see “the young kids improve in the wrestling room.” He hopes he can make it as far in the state tournament as possible, eventually reaching Atlantic City, the location of the State Finals.

The main goal for the season is to try get guys to qualify for as many big matches as possible by competing with a vigorous schedule. Eventually, the end goal is to make it down to Atlantic City to competitor and win some hardware.

Projected Starting Lineup

106: Jason Rosenberg (SO)

113: Empty

120: Jack Sergio (SO)

126: Loaiza or Batista

132: Jeff Stepien (SR)

138: Moriak or Rayack or Caminiti

145: Harrison Kelly (SR)

152: Conner Vill (SR)

160: Joseph Scalora (SR)

170: Kyle Savino (SO)

182: Quandt or Faxon or Williams

195: Thomas Puia (JR)

220: Tristan Mikiewicz (JR)

Heavy: Justin VanOostendorp (SR)