Local Primary Races Paint Picture Of November Ballot

Incumbent Democratic Freeholder Carol Barrett
Incumbent Democratic Freeholder Charles Tomaro
GOP Freeholder Candidate John O'Sullivan
GOP Freeholder Candidate Avi Duvdevani

NEW BRUNSWICK, NJ – With no primary challenges for either party on the local ballot for Tuesday, June 7, voters have a clear picture of November’s general elections when long-time Democratic incumbents will face a Republican slate of relative newcomers for state and county seats.

There are no municipal races in the city this year.

The slate of Democrats include state Senator Bob Smith, and Assemblymen Joseph Egan and Upendra Chivukula, all seeking reelection in District 17, which along with New Brunswick includes Highland Park, Milltown, North Brunswick and Piscataway, all in Middlesex County, and Franklin Township, Somerset County.

Sign Up for E-News

The Senate and Assembly seats are two-year terms.

Seeking reelection to the Middlesex County Board of Freeholders are incumbents Carol Barrett and Charles Tomaro. Each is seeking their first full three-year term.

The Republican challengers in November will be Jordan Rickards of North Brunswick for state Senate, and for state Assembly Carlo DiLalla of North Brunswick and Robert S. Mettler of Franklin Township.

Seeking election to the freeholder board on the GOP side are John O’Sullivan of South Brunswick and Avi Dudevani of South Amboy.

Rickards, an attorney, is a former Middlesex County Assistant Prosecutor who made an unsuccessful bid for a freeholder seat in 2010.

DiLalla made an unsuccessful bid for a seat on the North Brunswick school board in 2008. Mettler served two decades on the Franklin Township Council, including stints as mayor.

O’Sullivan, a semi-retired security professional, is the lone Republican on the South Brunswick Township Committee serving his first term, and Dudevani, a retired IT executive for New York City government, is a former member of Community Board 3 in Staten Island.    

On the Democratic side, Smith, former mayor of Piscataway, served in the state Assembly from 1986 to 2001, and in the state Senate since 2002.

Egan, who served three decades on the New Brunswick City Council, has served in the state Assembly since 2002. Chivukula, a former Franklin Township mayor and councilman, has been an Assemblyman since 2002.

Barrett is a former South Brunswick councilwoman and deputy mayor who was first appointed to the freeholder board in early 2009 to fill the seat left vacant by the death of longtime Freeholder Director David B. Crabiel. She was subsequently elected to complete the term.  

Tomaro, a former Edison Township Councilman, was appointed in January to complete the freeholder term of now Middlesex County Sheriff Mildred Scott.

TAP Into Another Town's News:

You May Also Be Interested In

Sign Up for E-News

New Brunswick

The Jaffe Briefing - May 18, 2018


IN COURT - Sounds like a cheesy thing to do, but the NJ Turnpike Authority has gone to court for years trying to stop a pizzeria chain whose logo is suspiciously similar to our beloved Garden State Parkway sign. Sure, nobody wants drivers searching for an on-ramp to end ...

The Jaffe Briefing - May 17, 2018


MOUNTAINSIDE - Oh, where to begin describing this 46-page lawsuit against two Mountainside cops? A detective sergeant placing his testicles on co-workers' food. And throwing poop-smeared toilet tissue at them. And defecating in someone's boots. And taunting with a dildo dubbed "Big Blue" he liked to wave in cops' faces, as he chased ...

The Jaffe Briefing - May 16, 2018


ATLANTIC CITY - Happy days are here again, as the state's once gasping gaming resort is expecting sports betting will rake in $150 million to $175 million a year in new, glorious profits - courtesy of your pals on the U.S. Supreme Court. Moreover, ecstatic Stockton University officials believe, this recharged gambling mecca will bring in a whole new ...

The Jaffe Briefing - May 15, 2018


STATEWIDE - This. Changes. Everything. Legal sports betting is finally taking its rightful place in New Jersey, with the U.S. Supreme Court throwing out this dumb federal ban that has lasted for more than 25 years and has cost New Jersey billions of dollars in wasted opportunity. Places like the Atlantic City casinos and the racetracks will suddenly ...

The Jaffe Briefing - May 14, 2018


TRENTON - If you are a 16-year-old kid, absolutely convinced you have the maturity to make a life-long commitment, now's the time to get married. That's because state officials are poised to ban child marriage, ending the horrid practice of children as young as 16 getting hitched. NJ 101.5 reports there have been 200 such marriages ...

The Jaffe Briefing - May 11, 2018


STATEWIDE - If you're packin' a gun, start packin' your bags. That's the upshot of a tough firearms ban one of New Jersey's biggest property management firms just issued to thousands of its tenants. Now, RPM Development Group - which handles rental properties in more than a dozen communities - is getting blasted by gun rights ...

Newark man given 22-year sentence for kidnapping, sexual asault of Rutgers student

May 18, 2018

NEW BRUNSWICK, NJ - A Newark man was sentenced Friday to 22 years in prison for the 2016 kidnapping and sexual assault of a Rutgers University student on the school campus in New Brunswick.

Michael Knight, 40, of Newark must serve at least 85 percent of his sentence before he is eligible for parole, Middlesex County Prosecutor Andrew Carey said in a statement today.

Superior Court Judge ...

Rutgers center battles noise pollution nationwide

NEW BRUNSWICK, NJ  - Eric Zwerling got a call this week from a man was living next to a fitness center, complaining he repeatedly heard the loud thud heavy free weights and medicine balls hit the floor.

The man was recovering from having a pace maker in his chest and wondering of the impact of the noise from the gym.

“I’ve received thousands of calls,” said Zwerling, ...

Rutgers graduation to bring heavy weekend traffic

NEW BRUNSWICK, NJ  - RU ready for gridlock?

An estimated 45,000 people will fill High Point Solutions Stadium in Piscataway for Rutgers University graduation ceremonies this Sunday, bringing heavy traffic throughout much of the day.

The first ceremony at the stadium will begin at 10 a.m., followed by another at 12:30 p.m. and another later ceremony at the Rutgers ...

Police Investigate Rabbit "Tale"

May 11, 2018

SOUTH PLAINFIELD, NJ – Local cops are investigating an incident of ‘theft by deception’ involving the Plainfield Animal Hospital. 

According to the incident report filed by Officer Justin Melanson and obtained by TAPinto, residents of South Plainfield took their pet rabbit to the Park Avenue animal hospital on April 4 to be euthanized due to advanced ...


Here's How to Help Protect Young Athletes from Injury: Let Them Play Multiple Sports

May 1, 2018

Dear TAPInto New Brunswick:

One of the responsibilities that parents take most seriously is protecting their children from injury, whether it is buckling seat belts in a car or wearing a helmet while riding a bike. And when their kids become teenagers and want to participate in sports or other activities, parents do everything they can to keep their sons and daughters from getting ...

Golf & Canasta/Mah-Jongg/Board Game Classic on May 20th

May 13, 2018

         The Daniel Pearl Education Center (DPEC), an East Brunswick-based charitable organization that sponsors a wide range of community outreach programs, is hosting its fifth annual Golf Classic on Sunday, May 20 at the Cranbury Golf Club.
          In addition to the golf tournament, there will also be an ...