NEW BRUNSWICK, NJ - New Brunswick was selected as one of nine cities and counties that will receive $100,000 to develop sustainable business development and economic growth.

The New Jersey Economic Development Authority (EDA) is awarding the grants as part of the pilot round of the "Innovation Challenge" offered to support plans for improving development.

“Communities across New Jersey responded to this challenge with a clear commitment to spurring innovation in their local ecosystems,”  Governor Murphy said in announcing the grants today.

Sign Up for E-News

The city, in collaboration with Rutgers University, and other partners, established a project to address two significant issues as essential components to growing the local "innovation economy."

One issue of improving Infrastructure and communication will be addressed through the Rutgers Center for Advanced Infrastructure & Technology, which will focus on "improving mobility through universal connectivity," state officials said.

Secondly, the city and university will work with an architect and lab planner to design a prototype lab for start-up companies requiring flexible lab spaces. 

Two months ago, in July, the EDA launched the Innovation Challenge, requesting proposals from individual communities or teams of municipalities seeking to  compete for planning awards intended to catalyze economic growth across the state.

Proposals were scored against pre-established evaluation criteria, including the plan’s ability to achieve one or more goals of the challenge. The communities had to demonstrate a strengthening of the established partnership, commit to additional funding from partners, and show how the plan had the ability to grow the number of small businesses and attract employers.

Communities also had to show plans for solutions based on the use of new and emerging technologies, and an ability to execute the project.

Grants were also awarded to Atlantic City, Bridgeton, Union Township in Union County, Trenton, Atlantic County, Camden County, Monmouth County and Passaic County.