NEW BRUNSWICK, NJ - Tuesday, October 17 is the last day for voters in New Brunswick to register for the elections on November 7.

While the gubernatorial race between Democrat Phil Murphy and Republican Kim Guadagno is the main event, there’s still a lot of action going on at the local level.

Voter registration forms are available at the New Jersey Department of State website. You can fill out the form online, then download and print it out.

Sign Up for E-News

Make sure to include your full name, date of birth and address. Put in your driver’s license number, or the last four digits of your Social Security number if you don’t have a license.

The form isn’t just required for new voter registration. If you need to update your name, address, signature, or political party affiliation, that also needs to be handed in by Tuesday, October 17.

You can mail the form to the Middlesex County Commission of Registration at 11 Kennedy Boulevard, East Brunswick, NJ 08816. If the form is postmarked for October 17 but arrives after the deadline, it will still be accepted.

The form could also be dropped off at the commissioner’s East Brunswick office, which will be open until 9 p.m. to accept registration forms.

If you live in New Brunswick, you can stop by the Board of Elections office on the fourth floor of the county administrative building at 75 Bayard Street, but that office will only be open until 4 p.m.

Here are the candidates in New Brunswick:

On the state level, the State Senate and two General Assembly seats are up for grabs. New Brunswick is part of Legislative District 17, along with Franklin Township, Milltown, North Brunswick and Piscataway.

State Senate: Incumbent Bob Smith is running for a four year term on the Democratic ticket against Republican Daryl J. Kipnis.

General Assembly: Incumbents Joseph V. Egan and Joe Danielsen, both incumbents, are running for a two year term on the Democratic ticket against Republicans Robert A. Quinn and Nadine Wilkins. Also running is independent Michael Habib from the third party ticket: It’s Our Time:

Middlesex County Surrogate: The county surrogate is elected to a five year term and deals with matters such as family law, wills, guardianship, adoptions, family law and estates lacking a will. Incumbent Kevin J. Hoagland is running on the Democratic ticket against Republican Karin L. Nicola.

Middlesex County Board of Chosen Freeholders: The freeholders are a legislative body that votes on matters affecting  Middlesex County’s 800,000 residents. Three seats in the board’s seven member body are up for grabs this year.

Incumbents Leslie Koppel and Freeholder Deputy Director Charles Tomaro, both on the Democratic ticket, are running for a three year term against Republicans Mina Kolta and Priti Pandya-Patel.

Another incumbent, first-timer Shanti Narra, is running on the Democratic ticket against Republican Roger Daley for a one year term on the board.