NEW BRUNSWICK, NJ — It’s a toss-up—at least for now.

Whether Emra Seawood, the New Brunswick Board of Education’s sitting president, will retain her seat has yet to be decided, according to the preliminary results of today’s election. Seawood earned 153 votes—just two behind challenger Yesina Medina-Hernandez’s 155.

The two candidates are vying for bronze in the election.

Sign Up for E-News

Incumbents Dale Caldwell and Patricia Varela, meanwhile, appear to have harvested enough of the vote to each secure another three-year term on the school board. Caldwell received 216 votes, while Varela secured 194, according to the preliminary results.

Either Seawood or Medina-Hernandez will ultimately lock up the third available three-year term.

Diana Solis received 214 votes, winning her a one-year stint on the board to fill the remainder of a term that belonged to a board member who resigned last year. Solis, who ran uncontested, has held that seat after being appointed last summer.

Voters approved the district’s $201 million budget, which is set to raise taxes, by 177 votes to 58, according to the preliminary results.

Election officials will count mail-in ballots and attempt to validate the results in the near future.

Edit: An earlier version of this article reported that eleven districts appeared to have sent no voters to the polls. That's​ incorrect. The city used fewer voting machines in this election. TAPinto New Brunswick misinterpreted that data as no-shows. We regret the error.