NEW BRUNSWICK, NJ - Seven officers were ceremoniously sworn-in to join the city police department on Tuesday, bringing the force to a total of 149.

Taking the oath of office at city hall were Guiseppi Fatula, Timothy Hagerty, James Perotti, Christopher Mohr, Julio Urena and Robert Taveras.

Each of them completed graduated this week from the Cape May Police Academy where they completed 21 weeks of training, city officials said.

Sign Up for E-News

The seventh officer, Harrison Tejada, is a former sheriff's office and Middlesex County correctional officer. 

Tejada also graduated from the police academy, but he joined the city force last summer and has been working since then.

He was recognized on Tuesday as part of the newest group of officers to join the department.

With this latest group, the city now has the most officers ever in the history of the department, according to city officials.

And there are more to come. Another group is about to enter the police academy, the mayor's office said.

Several of the newly appointed officers are graduates of the city school system, according to officials, though they did not identify those graduates. All New Brunswick are required to reside in the city when they take the written exam for the job. They must live in the city for at least one year after they are appointed to the force.