Cross Country: New Providence Girls Take Group 1 Title, Boys Fall Just Short

One week after winning the North Jersey Section 2, Group 1 title (shown here), the New Providence girls' cross country team took the overall Group 1 championship on Saturday. Credits: TAP into New Providence Staff

HOLMDEL, NJ – New Providence senior cross-country star Jillian Turner’s magical year took another major step forward on Saturday. One week after winning the North Jersey Section 2, Group 1 Cross Country Championship, Turner dominated the field in Saturday’s NJSIAA Group 1 race, taking home the top spot and leading the Pioneers to an overall Group 1 title.

Turner conquered the 138-person race, finishing ahead of North Warren’s Nicole Ohannesia by 36 seconds.

The Pioneers had three runners place in the Top 10: No. 1 Jillian Turner(19:41), No. 5 Kelsey Turner (20:33) and No. 7 Megan Friscia (20:50). With a total race time of 1:44:42, the Pioneers easily defeated second-place team finisher Mountain Lakes by over 2 minutes.

Sign Up for E-News

All seven Pioneer runners finished in the Top 56.

Complete New Providence Girls’ Cross Country Results (recorded by Fraulo Race Timing, LLC):

  • 1. Jillian Turner (19:41)
  • 4. Kelsey Turner (20:33)
  • 6. Megan Friscia (20:50)
  • 17. Sarah Zeto (21:36)
  • 29. Lauren Pope(22:02)
  • 43. Sydney Peng (22:28)
  • 50. Jacquelyn Keating (22:41)


On the boys’ side, Jordan Price fell 13 seconds shy of capturing the NJSIAA, Group 1 individual title during Saturday’s Group 1 Championship race.

Price, who led the Pioneers’ boys’ cross-country team to a North Jersey Section 2, Group 1 victory last week, personally winning the race for the third time in his career, finished second (16:28) in the Group 1 race to Hadden Township’s Owen Long (16:15)

New Providence’s Mark Pasquariello, Jr. finished sixth (16:45), leading the Pioneers to a Top 5 team finish in the race. The Pioneers’ two Top 6 individual placements were the only school to reach the feat in this year’s race.

Six of the seven Pioneer runners finished in the top half of the 143-runner field.

Complete New Providence Boys’ Cross Country Results (recorded by Fraulo Race Timing, LLC):

  • 2. Jordan Price (16:28)
  • 6. Mark Pasquariello (16:45)
  • 35. David Adams (17:48)
  • 58. Cheney Price (18:21)
  • 65. Brian Azevedo (18:34)
  • 66. Brian Madden (18:35)
  • 74: Brent Hoffman (18:47)


TAP Into Another Town's News:

You May Also Be Interested In

Sign Up for E-News

New Providence

Enjoy a Lifetime of Discovery in Union County Parks

July 18, 2018

July is National Parks and Recreation Month, and Union County residents are invited to celebrate this year by exploring “undiscovered” programs and activities found throughout the nearly 6,200 acres of the Union County parks system.

“Union County was one of the very first counties in the United States to establish its own county-based park system for nature conservation and ...

Union County Honored for History Projects

ELIZABETH, NJ - The Union County Board of Chosen Freeholders is pleased to announce that two national achievement recognitions for history projects have been presented to the Union County Office of Cultural & Heritage Affairs, a division of the Department of Parks and Recreation.

“Union County is rich in history, and this Freeholder Board is committed to engaging the public with ...

Union County College Foundation’s 3rd “Close the Gap” Campaign Surpasses Goal

CRANFORD, NJ – With over 150 guests and volunteers in attendance, the Union County College Foundation surpassed their goal and raised nearly $55,000 at their 3rd Annual Close the Gap Campaign cocktail reception. Held on July 11, in the Richel Student Commons at the College’s Cranford campus, this campaign was developed by a small group of dedicated community volunteers to support the ...

Geoffrey the Giraffe Moves In To New Brunswick Children's Hospital

July 12, 2018

NEW BRUNSWICK, NJ - Over a stretch of nearly 70 years, Geoffrey the Giraffe at Toys R Us stores was the symbol of happy times for generations of children, and now he may provide those same feelings for children coming to a hospital.

"From this day forward, Geoffrey stands tall in our lobby to encourage our smallest patients to smile when they enter our facilities," said John ...

TAPinto Spotlight on Business Features New Providence Dentistry

July 17, 2018

NEW PROVIDENCE, NJ - TAPinto "Summer Spotlight on Business" features local businesses and their owners who are important to our communities. Follow this column to receive a fresh perspective on small business owners and their unique needs while shining a spotlight on their stories.

This edition features New Providence Dentistry, operated by Dr. Beth Herko and her staff of ...

Upcoming Events


Fri, July 20, 8:00 AM

Providence Health & Fitness, New Providence

Barre Intensity

Health & Wellness


Fri, July 20, 9:15 AM

Providence Health & Fitness, New Providence

Vinyasa Flow Yoga

Health & Wellness


Fri, July 20, 10:30 AM

Providence Health & Fitness, New Providence

Pilates Reformer

Health & Wellness


Fri, July 20, 6:30 PM

Providence Health & Fitness, New Providence

Vinyasa Flow Yoga


Sat, July 21, 8:00 AM

Providence Health & Fitness, New Providence

Barre Intensity

Health & Wellness

And Over Here is the Dining Hall 2

My very first job in admissions was while I was still an undergraduate myself as a tour guide.  Very early on they indoctrinated us with some tricks of the trade.  It’s a dining hall, not a cafeteria.  A residence hall, not a dorm.  If you have to divulge some negative bit of information, sandwich it between two positives.  There were instructions for glossing over ...

Avoiding 10% Tax Penalty

Do you want access to money from your retirement accounts but aren't sure of the real costs involved?

Most retirement accounts have a set age requirement you must reach before making penalty-free income distributions, which is usually 59.5 but can sometimes be as early as age 50. If you decide to access your accounts earlier, you could face penalties ranging from 10%-25%, which is not ...