PICATAWAY, NJ – In a showdown of three state-ranked swimming powerhouses, it was Westfield (389 pts.) claiming the Union County Championships, followed by Summit (364 pts.) and Scotch Plains-Fanwood (300 pts.).

“We were lights out for 11 events. Every swimmer stood out, and we needed every point,” said Westfield varsity coach Steven Whittington. “It was after the 200 Freestyle Relay that we began to pull ahead. In the 400, we knew we were in a really good position in terms of where were in the meet. Our last race was anchored by Abby McKinney, one of the best swimmers in the history of our school.”

Summit threw down the gauntlet in the 200 Medley Relay with the team of Natalie Wisniewski, Emma Claus, Caitlin Fagan and Dagny Donaldson finishing in 1:49.66. Westfield (Lauren Lane, Ellie Cestero, Abby McKinney and Erin McKinne0 finished second, and Scotch Plains-Fanwood (Lily Hughes, Sofia Leonetti, Ava Mustacciuolo, and Abby Ryan) finished third.

Sign Up for New Providence Newsletter
Our newsletter delivers the local news that you can trust.

“We broke several team records and had a chance at winning against Westfield. I can’t remember the last time we had a chance against them in this meet,” said Summit varsity coach Luke Piede. “We kind of ran out of gas towards the end. Westfield is very deep. I’m proud our girls; they swam like champions today.”

Maggie O’Donnell of Cranford, the top seed, won the 200 Freestyle with a time of 1:55.26, followed by Bridget Davis, Union Catholic; Kate Curran, Gov. Livingston, Aislinn Mooney, Scotch Plains-Fanwood, and Erin McAndrew, Westfield.

Autumn Keats-O’Connor of New Providence took the 200 IM with a time of 2:07.31, followed by Lizzy Washburn of Kent Place, Abby McKinney of Westfield, Sarina Cusumanno of Summit, and Claire Shurnur of Oak Knoll.

Julia Bonhote of Scotch Plains-Fanwood won the first of two individual races with a 21.21 in the 50 Freestyle. Emma Claus of Summit finished second, Marino Munziato of Cranford took third, followed by Erin McKinney of Westfield and Emma Yang of Kent Place.

“We were solid across the board and had a lot of best times throughout the meet,” said Scotch Plains-Fanwood varsity coach Jess Hulnik. “Julia Bonhote was a double winner (50 Freestyle and 100 Freestyle), and Lily Hughes won the 100 Backstroke. We were good all around.”

Abby McKinney of Westfield finished first in the 100 Butterfly in 57.18, followed by Lizzy Washburn of Kent Place, Maggie O’Donnell of Cranford, Rachel Heeren of Gov. Livingston, and Caitlin Fagan of Summit.

Julia Bonhote won the 100 Freestyle in 52.88, followed by Emma Yang of Kent Place, Marina Nunziato of Cranford, Erin McAndrew of Westfield, and Kate Curran of Gov. Livingston.

Bridget Davis of Union Catholic and Aislinn Mooney, two Fanwood residents, battled wire-to-wire in an exciting 500 Freestyle that Davis took in 5:10.41. Dagny Donaldson of Summit finished third, followed by Lauren Lane and Julia McGann of Westfield.

Westfield began to pull away from Summit with a win in the 200 Freestyle Relay from Erin McKenney, Vivian Jeckell, Marcelina Krowinska, and Erin McAndrew. Scotch Plains-Fanwood (Rachel Small, Chloe Howell, Abby Ryan, and Julia Bonhote) placed second, and Summit (Ceclia Wenn, Megan Gregory, Caitlin Fagan, and Emma Claus) finished third.

Lily Hughes continued her dominance in the 100 Backstroke this season by finishing atop the field with time of 57. 61. Rachel Heeren of Gov. Livingston came in second, followed by Chaire Shurmur of Oak Knoll, and then Lauren Lane and Julia McGann of Westfield.

Autumn Keats-O'Connor of New Providence won the 100 Breaststroke with a time of 1:04.75, followed by Emma Claus of Summit, Abby Ryan of Scotch Plains-Fanwood edged Clara Yu of Westfield for third place. Megan Gregory of Summit finished fifth.

Westfield's 400 Freestyle Relay team (Erin McAndrew, Lauren Lane, Marcelina Krowinska, and Abby McKinney) overtook an early lead from Scotch Plains-Fanwood (Julia Bonhote, Aislinn Mooney, Chloe Howell and Rachel Small), which held off a surging Gov. Livingston team (Caroline Kolmodin, Kate Curran, Ashley Chang, and Rachel Heeren) to hold onto second place.