NEW PROVIDENCE, NJ – Student enrollment for the 21012-13 school year increased slightly over the end of the previous school year, School Superintendent Dr. David Miceli said.

This school year’s total amounts to 2,304 pupils which is a modest increase over last year’s 2,281.

Providing a breakdown, Dr. Miceli said 617 were enrolled at the high school, 356 pupils at the middle school, 648 students at Salt Brook and 646 at Allen W. Roberts.   He added an additional 37 students were engaged in out-of-district programs.

Sign Up for E-News

School Board Member Nancy Opperthauser said the school district approved the enrollment an out-of-district student on a tuition basis of $14,613 for the entire school year.

“It’ll be interesting to see how this plays out,” Ms. Opperthauser said, referring to a possible influx of out-of-district students since the naming of New Providence High School as the state’s number one high school by New Jersey Monthly Magazine.

In other news, Dr. Miceli said the school district had entered preliminary discussions with an outside agency that could lead to a student exchange program with China at the high school, middle school and elementary grade levels.

The school district was also the recipient of some generous donations.  The Allen W. Robert’s PTA donated almost $22,000 to renovate the school’s Media Center; an additional $1,251 was received from the school’s sixth grade class.

In addition, the school district accepted a generous donation from the Microsoft Corporation of a Dream Spark software subscription with an estimated value of almost $8,000 with the condition that it be used exclusively for instructional purposes.

“I am pleased to report that New Providence High School has two National Merit Scholarship semi-finalists,” Dr. Miceli said.  They are Aditi Padmanabhan and Nicholas Xu.

In addition, the school district has eight students who have been named National Merit Commended Scholars;  David DiBennedetto, Samantha Gorny, Kyle Kroeger, Patrick Doran, Allison Hartenstein, Kathryn Meyers, Michael Glendinning and Joseph Kelly.

The district also claims five National Advanced Placement Scholars who earned an average score of at least 4 on all exams taken:  Sonya Han, Justin Patel, Zachary Klapwald, Nina Sun and Devind Kullar.

Named as Advanced Placement Scholars with Distinction with an average score of 3.5 on all exams taken were:  Kevin Boyd, Jonathan Dounel, Sonya Han, Madeline Ku, Justin Patel, James Savage, Nina Sun, Courtney Connolly, John Esposito, Thomas Huang, Devind Kullar, Sarah Popov, Brian Schendt, Victor Yu, Brendan Davis, Brian Frino, Zachary Klapwald, Evan Manuella, Nicole Saitta and Abigail Schwarz.

Earning a score of at least 3.25 on all exams, Advanced Placement Scholars with Honor were:  Nicole Aneiros, Lan Ejiri, David Anekstein, Michael Glendinning, Carissa Chan, Seth Keller, Lauren Mossberg, Victoria Thomas, Paige Peterson, Peter Wirth and Samuel Stern.

Twenty students were named Advanced Placement Scholars having earned a score of 3 or higher on three or more exams: Jill Ashinsky, Chris Fezza, William Gilroy, Joseph Kelly, Brian Mathis, Mariana Papaianni, Emily Scharf, Alexander Blitt, Daniel Friedman, Brianna Hearn, Alexandra Kohut, Mara Natale, Meredith Richter, Nicholas Xu, Patrick Doran, Christiana Gellert, Luke Heisinger, Gabriel Lyons, Aditi Padmanabhan and Bijan Saniee.