NEW PROVIDENCE, NJ – The Board of Education (BOE) convened for a short reorganization meeting on Thursday, Jan. 2. Bernadette Cuccaro and Joseph Walsh took an oath to serve another three-year term on the board. Cuccaro was elected the President of the Board and Robert Dinerman the Vice-President.

The board also announced committee assignments. The Curriculum, Instruction and Technology Committee will be chaired by Dinerman. Other members include Mary Misiukiewicz and Rebecca Coniglio. Walsh will lead the Finance, Facilities and Safety/Security Committee with Ira Krauss and Adam Smith. Misukiewicz will be chairing the Personnel, Management and Communication Committee. Walsh and Smith will also serve on that committee.

Furthermore, the board named representatives to various entities as follows:

Sign Up for New Providence Newsletter
Our newsletter delivers the local news that you can trust.

Union County School Boards Association: Robert Dinerman

Union County Educational Services Commission: Mary Misiukiewicz

New Jersey School Boards Association: Bernadette Cuccaro

Municipal Alliance Representative: Adam Smith

Morris-Union Jointure Commission: Superintendent David Miceli

Liaison with Education Foundation: Rebecca Coniglio

Liaison with Education Tri-County Boards: Bernadette Cuccaro

Government Relations: Ira Krauss and Bernadette Cuccaro

Board Policy: Ira Krauss

 With regard to other news the board approved the resignation of Peter Lutchko, Data Management Specialist effective Jan. 31, 2020. The district is looking for a replacement to fill the position.

School Business Administrator and Board Secretary James Testa invited the board members to visit the high school/middle school cafeteria which received new, more modern furniture over the holiday break. In addition to traditional round tables the dining hall features high-tables and comfortable soft seating areas similar to the newly renovated media center.