NEWARK, NJ - Weeks away from the new school year, Newark Superintendent Roger León announced the lineup of 15 new principal hires for elementary and high schools in the district. 

Of those starting the 2019 – 2020 school year as new Principals, 12 were promoted from within the district’s ranks. Three were recruited externally from a Newark charter school and other public schools in New Jersey.

The hires are a key component of the district’s Clarity 2020 transition plan and Superintendent León’s vision for transforming school culture, increasing rigor, improving student life and promoting parent engagement.  

Sign Up for E-News

“I am excited to start the year with such a talented group of leaders,'' said Superintendent León. “We know they have the passion, drive and track record for advancing student achievement.”

Here are the 15 new principals for the upcoming school year: 

American History High School – Allison R. DeVaughn, a former administrator at Malcolm X Shabazz High School.

Barringer High School – Dr. Jose Aviles, former Principal of a high school in Franklin Township Public Schools. Previously, he was Vice-Principal at West Side High School and Principal at Barringer High School before transitioning to Newark Collegiate Academy, a KIPP New Jersey charter high school. 

Dr. William H. Horton Elementary School – Hamlet Marte was promoted from his role as vice-principal.

Early Childhood Centers – Jeanne Ramirez, former Chief Innovation Officer at Elliot Street School.

East Ward Elementary School – Rosa Monteiro-Inacio will serve as the first principal of the new East Ward Elementary School. She was formerly a vice-principal at Ann Street School. 

Benjamin Franklin School – Amy B. Panitch will move up from her role as vice-principal.

Harriet Tubman Elementary School – Angela Davis, was former vice-principal of Camden Street School.

Lincoln School – Hillary Dow who recently worked as a special assistant, managing the instructional and operational programs of twelve district elementary schools.

Louise A. Spencer Elementary School – Karla Venezia was promoted from her role as vice-principal.

Luis Muñoz Marin Middle School – Kenneth Montalbano, former vice-principal at Luis Muñoz Marin School. 

McKinley Elementary School – Carlos Reyes, former vice-principal at Park Elementary School.

Mount Vernon Elementary – Camille Findley-Browne, former vice-principal at First Avenue Elementary School. 

Newark Vocational High School Kyle Brown, former West Side High School vice-principal.

Quitman Street School – Justin Avery, former assistant principal at Teaneck Public Schools.

University High School – Genique Flournoy-Hamilton, former principal at Marion P. Thomas Charter PAC Academy in Newark.

Science Park High School - Angela Mincy will take over as principal.

Principals for some schools have not yet been announced.