NEWTON, NJ—Halsted Middle School celebrated the Class of 2015’s eighth grade promotion ceremony Monday, June 22 at 6 p.m. in the Newton High School auditorium.

Families, friends and faculty gathered into the auditorium to watch the eighth graders get promoted to high school students.

The band played “Pomp and Circumstance” by Edward Elgar as the students processed onto the stage. Student Council President, Imad Balatero, led the crowd in the Pledge of Allegiance and the playing of the Star Spangled Banner.

Sign Up for E-News

The theme of the ceremony was the Seasons of Change. Three students read speeches that went along with the theme. “Fall” was read by Brianna Bello, “Winter” was read by Sophia Loiacono, and “Spring” was read by Bridget Guziewicz.

Choir members that were leaving Halsted sang the song “Seasons of Love” from Rent, with an ending of “See you Again”, by Wiz Khalifa. The band, along with the eighth graders that were leaving as well, played the song “Quad City Stomp” by Michael Sweeny.

Jeff Waldron, who was the 2014-2015 Principal at Halsted and is now the 2015-2016 Newton High School Principal, presented the Class of 2015. Waldron spoke about change and fear, but finished by telling the students that they should not be afraid of change, that all they need to do is “embrace the challenge and embrace the change”.

Dr. Ken Greene, the Superintendent, spoke to the Class of 2015 next. He also spoke about changes and challenges that were ahead of the students as they entered into a new school with new students, teachers and a new environment. He told the crowd that he had seen these students go from “wide-eyed children, to emerging teenagers”.

The Class of 2015 roll call was done by Kristi Greene, the current Assistant Principal at Halsted Middle School and the new 2015-2016 school year Principal at Halsted. She was accompanied by Board of Education President Stella Dunn and Board of Education member, Tina Larsen.

72 students graduated in the Class of 2015, on Monday, June 22 at 6.p.m. While Halsted Middle School will no longer be home to these students, Newton High School opens its doors to them. Some will go to Sussex Tech and some will go to Newton High School, but no matter where they go, the Class of 2015 will embrace the challenges they face in their new environments and bring to their new schools their own ideas, opinions, and adventures.

On behalf of, we wish the Class of 2015 the best of luck and Congratulations.

Halsted Middle School Class of 2015

Lambros Costas Agathocleous, Mary Linda Argandona, Kevin Alejandro Ayoso, Imad Alden M. Balatero**, Brianna Rose Bello*, Kayla Marie Bongiardina, Richard Anthony Boyce III, Jazmin D. Bradshaw, Keymon Emil Bridgers, Anthony Fabricio Briones, Devon Nicholas Canfield, Christian Alexander Casas, Riley Catalano*, Nicoletta Ciccia, Joshua Cyle Collins, Natalie Isabel Cunningham, Janelle Leigh Curry, Zackary Michael Curtin, Sean Reese DeGesero, Victoria Amber Docherty, Alexis Fadgen-Betz, Jason Andrew Fiorvante, Xavier Xilinx Ford, Jasmin Tatiana Freeman, Tyler James Galante, Isabella Souraya Ghaleb, Taylor Marie Goldschmiedt, Bridget Maria Frances Guziewicz*, Gabrielle Christine Hankinson, Trent Christopher Harden*, Autaumn Starr Hess*, Jaclyn Paige Holmberg, Steven G. Hyde, Morgan Alexandra Ikner, Kristopher Matthew Katsios, Kayla A. Kawaihae, Daniel Fulton Kelly*, Darby Quinn Knox, Mercedes Janine Latimer, Megan Elizabeth Leatham, Chelsea Brinn Leonardo, Maddie Morgan Leonardo, Sophia Nicole Loiacono, Gisselle Lopez-Barradas, Axel Maidana-Ortega, Kathryn Ashley Maker*, Matthew Thomas Malvey, Ottavio Michael Marmora Jr., Alexander Michael McCully, James Francis McKeown, Brianna Lee Mosier, Mia M. Padilla, Nikita A. Petrenko, Kate Nicole Publik*, Caitlin Marie Reiman, Cameron Allen Robbins, Reid R. Rochelle, Benisha Ann Rodriguez, Joshua David Rothstein, Kelly Grace Solomon*, Sarah Rose Sayner, Justin Scott, Alyssa Marie Mae Scribner, Devin Edward Scrowcroft, Jonathon Elias Segarra-Cruz, Natalie Rose Squires, Sarah Sharmaine Sy, Kobe VanDunk, Genna Capri Vealey, Alejandro Villegas-Rodriguez, Matthew Warren Welker, Sarah E. Wright

*NJHS Students                                                                                                 **Student Council Officers

Please enjoy additional photos in the album on the TAP into Newton facebook page