NEWTON, NJ - The 2015 Enthusiastic Reader awards were presented to the grade level representatives during the Board of Education meeting held Tuesday, March 24 in the Newton High School Library.

The Enthusiastic Reader contest is used to “recognize students from our area who exhibit an enthusiasm for reading and sharing books. Teachers from each of the three schools nominated enthusiastic readers and we are here to honor them this evening,” said Newton High School librarian Wendy Whipple.

Each grade level from kindergarten to Grade 12 had a representative who won the award. There were a total of 63 names submitted by teachers into the statewide portion of the contest. However, “Newton did not have any winners in the statewide contest but we were please to send along such worthy candidates,” said Whipple.

Sign Up for E-News

The teacher who nominated the student said a few words about them and why they believed they deserved to win this award. The winners of the enthusiastic reader award are as follows:

Kindergarten- Gabriella Leak nominated by Mrs. Feldman

Grade 1- Cheyanne Harding nominated by Ms. Koenigsberg

Grade 2- Ione Smith nominated by Mrs. Vogler

Grade 3- Edreece Sharafi nominated by Mrs. McGrath

Grade 4- Chloe Medunick nominated by Ms. Guillorn

Grade 5- Kaylee Oquendo nominated by Ms. Ochs

Grade 6- Morgan Witt nominated by Mrs. Nieman

Grade 7- Joshua Tierney nominated by Ms. O’Mara

Grade 8- Brianna Bello nominated by Ms. Perrier

Grade 9- Elenora Vega nominated by Mrs. Whipple

Grade 10- Leah Cotton nominated by Mrs. Whipple

Grade 11- Bailee Welsh nominated by Mrs. Whipple

Grade 12- Ameah Adjobi nominated by Mrs. Whipple