NEWTON, NJ—With the announcement of schools being closed for the remainder of the year, comes the realization that Halsted Middle School Class of 2020 will not receive its traditional send-off. Every year, Halsted Middle School eighth graders get “promoted” to high school students the day before the last day of school.

This year, the promotion ceremony will be in conjunction with the awards ceremony.  It will be held virtually on Tuesday. June 16 from 6 until 7 p.m.

  • Matthew Teets
  • Patrick Teets
  • Jason Teets
  • Kelsey Patricia Snellen
  • Jennifer Ellsworth- National Junior Honor Society inductee
  • Zak Ays
  • John Kristiansen
  • Edgar J Marrero Martinez
  • Skyler Murphy
  • Demarius Posey
  • Dazia Posey
  • Shiv Mehta
  • Ariel Grace-Brooklyn Franzone
  • Kailin Kane- current National Junior Honor Society member & will be attending Morristown Beard School in fall
  • Abigail Biederman-National Junior Honor Society inductee
  • Danielle Penny- current National Junior Honor Society member
  • Ava Bryski
  • Mackenzie Genung

Halsted Middle School parents have been invited to submit a picture and/or information about their graduates. This is the first installment of a multi part article.

Sign Up for Newton Newsletter
Our newsletter delivers the local news that you can trust.

To have your graduate included, please email with graduate’s name and a picture of them in their cap and gown.

Get your local news delivered to your inbox for FREE each day.  Subscribe to TAPinto Newton or Sparta   or Like us on TAPinto Newton facebook and  TAPinto Sparta facebook