NEWTON, NJ- The Newton Town Council and the Newton Board of Education will both hold their annual reorganization meeting on Tuesday, January 7 at 7 p.m.  Residents who are interested in observing the selection of the new leadership for each board will have to choose one.

The council members will select the Mayor and Deputy Mayor at this meeting.  The mayor will be sworn in by Sanford L. Hollander, Esq.  The deputy mayor will be sworn in by Lorraine A. Read, RMC.  Additional annual business, appointments, reappointments and authorizations are on the agenda.

The Police Chief Robert Osborn will take his oath of office as will Lt. Michael Monaco and Sgt. Michael Wolanski.

Sign Up for Newton Newsletter
Our newsletter delivers the local news that you can trust.

Newton Board of Education members will select the president and vice president from their members.  Board members Ray Morris, Anthony Neggers and Ed Caffrey will take their oath of office along with sending district representatives.

The board of education members will address annual appointments and renewals at their meeting scheduled to take place at the board offices on Trinity Street