Say what you will about Jack Hansen – the politician is persistent.

The Democrat and Lansdale Borough Councilman has had his eye on the bigger prize ever since he first challenged Republican Bob Godshall for his 53rd District seat in 2008. He failed to win the seat, and challenged Godshall two more times, without success. Close, but no cigar.

This time, the ex-Lansdale Borough Council President had his sights set on Republican Bob Mensch’s 24th District seat in the Pennsylvania Senate. Hansen made it to the ballot on Election Day by luck of write-ins during the Primary earlier this year.

Sign Up for E-News

However, fourth time was not a charm.

On Tuesday, Mensch unofficially won a second 4-year term in office, beating Hansen in all three counties comprising the 24th Senatorial District: Berks, Bucks and Montgomery.

As of early Wednesday morning, 9,027 of 9,180 precincts in Pennsylvania were reported, or 98 percent. Here was the breakdown, courtesy of the Pennsylvania Department of State:


Bob Mensch: 5,985 (65 percent)

Jack Hansen: 3,295 (36 percent)


Mensch: 9,352 (61 percent)

Hansen: 6,053 (39 percent)


Mensch: 26,446 (59 percent)

Hansen: 18,616 (41 percent)


Mensch, 69, of Pennsburg, defeated Democrat Bill Wallace in the 2010 General Election, with 60 percent of the vote.

He defeated another Lansdale politician – former Councilwoman Anne Henning Scheuring – in a special election in 2009, with 66 percent of the vote. Mensch was elected to the position vacated by resigning Republican Rob Wonderling.

Mensch was elected to the 147th Legislative District in 2006, and served to 2009.

Mensch served as a Marlborough Township Supervisor from 2004 to 2006.

The 24th Senatorial District comprises Lansdale Borough, Towamencin Township, Lower Salford Township, Salford Township, Marlborough Township, Green Lane Borough, Upper Salford Township, Skippack Township, Perkiomen Township, Trappe Borough, Schwenksville Borough, Lower Frederick Township, Upper Frederick Township, West Pottsgrove Township, Pottstown Borough, Upper Pottsgrove Township, New Hanover Township, Douglass Township, Upper Hanover Township, Red Hill Borough, Pennsburg Borough, and East Greenville in Montgomery County; Colebrookdale Township, District, Township, Earl Township, Hereford Township, Longswamp Township, Pike Township, Rockland Township, Washington Township, Bally Borough, Bechtelsville Borough, and Boyertown Borough in Berks County; and Bridgeton Township, Durham Township, Milford Township, Nockamixon Township, Richland Township, Springfield Township, Tinicum Township, Quakertown Borough, Richlandtown Borough, Riegelsville Borough, and Trumbauersville Borough in Bucks County.