WATCHUNG, NJ – Watchung republican voters selected Debra S. Joren and David Mobus to run for Council in this year’s Municipal Council election. The election results mean incumbent Thomas Franklin a mainstay on Council since 2000 will not be on the Borough Council next year.

The unofficial election tally had 303 votes for Joren, 293 votes for Mobus and 276 votes for Franklin. Franklin did not have the party line in the primary election.

The primary election results practically ensure both Joren and Mobus will be elected to Council for a term beginning in 2016 since the Watchung Democratic Party failed to muster a ticket for the primary election.