NORTH PLAINFIELD, NJ – The North Plainfield School District has selected six educators as their Teachers of the Year, an annual designation begun in 2008 by retiring Superintendent Marilyn Birnbaum.

Teachers are nominated by anyone they come in contact with as part of their scholastic duties, including students, former students, colleagues and parents.  A committee representing all constituencies for North Plainfield’s schools reviews the nominations and backing materials, and then votes for a teacher from each of the town’s six schools.

This year’s winners are computer teacher Anthony Della Rosa of the High School; reading teacher Shona Wright of the Middle School; 6th grade science teacher Colleen Strickland of Somerset School; kindergarten teacher Nancy Lubreski of West End; in-class support teacher Sharon Egan of East End; and art teacher Sonya Larado of Stony Brook School.

Sign Up for E-News

Both Della Rosa and Larado split their time between the Middle and High Schools, and spend some time supporting the elementary schools as well.

According to the schools, the criteria for the awards are not only excellence in the classroom, but also “making a positive contribution in the field of education.”

The winners will be honored at the June 3rd Board of Education meeting beginning at 7:30 p.m. and held at 33 Mountain Avenue.  The following week the winners will be treated to a luncheon at Giovanna’s Restaurant in Plainfield.