WARREN, NJ – Ninety-three students at Watchung Hills Regional High School were inducted into the National Honor Society (NHS) at a ceremony attended by parents, students and staff on Thursday, Oct. 27, at the school.

Social Studies teacher Rebecca Brown, who was inducted into the NHS on Oct. 19, 1994, when she was a junior at Broughton High School, Raleigh, N.C., and who was a practicing attorney before becoming a teacher, was named by this year’s NHS inductees as their “Teacher of the Year.”


New student members Justin Bardy, Brooke Stanicki, MinheeHan and Cidney Weng were named by their fellow students as this year’s chapter president, vice president, secretary and treasurer, respectively.

Sign Up for E-News


New NHS student member Anthony Speros played incidental mood music on his electric guitar as guests entered the Performing Arts Center and found their seats. He then played “Pomp and Circumstance” as his fellow new NHS members processed into the school’s Performing Arts Center (PAC).



Inducted into the NHS this year, are seniors: Amrutha Ajjarapu, Justin Bardy, Christopher Barry, Sydney Buck, Emily Carrieri, Eugene Chang, Emily Chen, Alessandro Conte, Allison Conway, Meghana Dantuluri, Timothy DaSilva, Alyssa deCavaignac, Sahil Deo, Jonathan Dong, Christopher Draikiwicz, Erik Elbrecht, Natalie Farrell, Nicole Freire, Haley Frey, and Vrinda Goel; and


Also, Nicole Goldstein, Suchir Govindarajan, Rachel Han, Ang-Ting Ho, Allison Horvath, Sonali Howe, Karthik Irakam, Aditi Joshi, Natalie Kim, Danielle Koslow, Ryan Krakower, Daniel Lee, Stephen Lee, Kira Leinwand, Bradley Levin, Julia Liaw, Kevin Lu, Arjun Mahal, Adam Manspeizer, and Zoha Masood;and

Also, Matthew Mauricio, Ryan McHugh, Hannah Melillo, Amy Narakornpichit, Arielle Ostry, Alexander Overzat, VineetParikh, Nicole Pila, Morgan Pravato, Rachel Printz, Natalie Przybylski, Matthew Renzo, Jonathan Rich, Jaclyn Romankow, Sarah Rosa, Sydney Roth, David Roushdy, Caroline Rucker, Rachel Sabnani, Jordan Scheiner, David Schlingloff, Joshua Schmidt, McKenzie Schuyler, Chelsea Semper, Kinnary Shah, Jessica Shapiro, and Michelle Shui; and


Also, Michael Snyder, Amanda Soliman, Jesse Song, Anthony Speros, Brooke Stanicki, Kathleen Stavole, Emmaline Stoddard, Julia Stomber, Raymond Tang, Joshua Tankel, Ethan Tu, Emma Tuberty-Vaughan, Sarah Wagman, David Walker, Nicole Wang, Cidney Weng, Sydney Wilcenski, Jordan Wilen, Susan Wong, Emily Yan, Jenny Yan, Samuel Zelnick, Brian Zeng, Andrew Zheng, Joyce Zhou, and Christina Zoppi.


Students, Parents, Staff Welcomed

WHRHS NHS Advisor Michelle Madigan, a chemistry teacher, opened the induction ceremony, welcoming the students, parents, families, and staff. New NHS member Natalie Przybylski led the Pledge of Allegiance. 


Superintendent Elizabeth Jewett extended the welcome of the entire high school community and the WHRHS Board of Education, and new NHS members Minhee Han and Cidney Weng provided a short lesson in the National Honor Society.


Then, several new NHS members led the annual Candle Lighting Ceremony, with students describing what the distinguishing personal characteristics of Character, Scholarship, Leadership and Community Service mean to them in the context of the National Honor Society, and then lighting candles commemorating each characteristic. Talking about Character was Natalie Kim. Talking about Scholarship was KarthikIrakam. Talking about Leadership were Meghana Dantuluri and Amy Narakornpichit, and talking about Community Service was Suchir Govindarajan.


The NHS Society pledge is: “I pledge to uphold the high purpose of the National Honor Society to which I have been selected. I will be true to the principles for which it stands: To maintain my high scholastic standing, to hold as fundamental and worthy an untarnished character, to endeavor intelligently and courageously to be a leader, and to give myself freely in service to others.”


WHRHS Vice Principal Patricia Toubin read the certification of the students who were to be inducted.  New NHS members Justin Bardy and Brooke Stanicki read the names of the students, who came forward to receive their certificates. They also received the congratulations of teachers and staff on stage, and received the gold Honor Cords signifying induction into the NHS. Students will wear the Honor Cord as part of their cap and gown on Graduation Day.


Principal George Alexis offered congratulatory remarks to students and parents. New NHS members Haley Frey, Zoe Masood, and Sydney Roth shared why students selected AP U.S. Politics and Government and U.S. History teacher Rebecca Brown as their NHS Teacher of the Year. She was also awarded a certificate, and gold Honor Cord.


New NHS student Members Minhee Han and Cidney Wengprovided closing remarks, joining other school officials in thanking the members of the WHRHS NHS Faculty Council, the PAC theater staff for setting up the sound system, Building and Grounds for setting up the stage, and the Watchung Hills kitchen staff for setting up the refreshments in the PAC lobby for the reception after the ceremony