WARREN, NJ – Twelve student instrumentalists and another seven student singers from Watchung Hills Regional High School have been selected for Region II scholastic honors musical groups.

WHRHS Instrumental Music Director Paul McCullen and WHRHS Choral Music Director Angela DiIorio Bird congratulated the students who were selected. Both said all the students were selected from auditions conducted during intense preparations for the school’s annual Winter Concerts.

“We want to congratulate all the students who were selected for All Region II recognition,” said McCullen and DiIorio Bird.“They all performed beautifully earlier this month at the All Region II concerts.”

Sign Up for E-News

The Central Jersey Music Education Association (CJMEA) high school Orchestra and Percussion Ensemble Concert was held on Sunday, Jan. 8, at Montgomery Township High School. The CJMEA Symphonic Band and Wind Ensemble Concerts were held on Sunday, Jan. 15, at Montgomery Township High School.

Selected for the Region II Symphonic Band are: Lindsey Shi, Cathleen Luo, Katie Tan, William Narayanan, Andrew Morrison, Carl Peterson, Cristina Sarrico, Jack Horan, Olivia Xu and Craig Mandelbaum.

Selected for Region II Wind Ensemble is: Ethan Marmolejos. Selected for Region II Orchestra are: Catherine Cai and Ethan Marmolejos.


Selected for Region II Mixed Chorus are: Kyra Anthony, Kira Leinwand, and Suchir Govindarajan;

Selected for Region II Treble Chorus are: Angelina Carrano, Anchal Dhir, Summer Stuart, and Christine Tanko.



WHRHS PHOTOS All Region II Vocal and Instrumental


Selected for All Region II Vocal groups are, from left, Kyra Anthony, Christine Tanko, Angelina Carrano, Anchal Dhir, Suchir Govindarajan, Kira Leinwand and Summer Stuart. Selected for All Region II Instrumental groups are: From left, Katie Tan, Olivia Xu, Lindsey Shi, Craig Mandelbaum, Jack Horan, Andrew Morrison, Ethan Marmolejos, and Carl Peterson.Not in the photo are students selected for All Region II Instrumental groups. They are: Cathleen Luo, William Narayanan, Cristina Sarrico, and Catherine Cai.