WATCHUNG, NJ - Watchung Borough swore in its two newest members of the Borough Council on Thursday and named one as the 2020 Borough Council president.

Mayor Keith Balla addressed the full chambers, including Gov. Donald DiFrancesco, Somerset County Freeholder Sara Sooy, Freeholder elect Melonie Marano, former Watchung Mayor Al Ellis, and North Plainfield Mayor Michael Giordano. 

Balla video

Sign Up for North Plainfield/Green Brook/Watchung Newsletter
Our newsletter delivers the local news that you can trust.

Wendy Robinson and  Pietro Martino were sworn in as council members by Sooy and Robinson was nominated by council member Stephen Black and unanimously approved as president of the council for 2020.

Robinson video

Martino video

Deputy Clerk Regina Angelo, Rescue Squad Captain Jeiner Betancourt and Rescue Squad First Lieutenant Denise Wilson were also sworn in, and the council recognized and congratulated the following for years of service and dedication to the residents of Watchung:



65 Years: Donald Scotti, Fire Department

30 Years: Bob Burns, Public Works Department

 25 Years: Stephen Black, Council Member

Bill Hance, Chief Finance Officer, Tax Collector

Rob Winston, Rescue Squad

20 Years: William Stankan, Police Department

 Arlene McCoy, Assistant Engineer

Stephen Carlucci, Fire Department

15 Years: Maria Fittipaldi, Administrative Assistant Michael Dolinski, Police Department

 David Miller, Fire Department

10 Years: Sean Bouchard, Police Department

Kyle Poulsen, Police Department

Sherif Zaiton, Police Department

 Jonathan Erber, Fire Department

Timothy Erber, Fire Department

Charles Pivnichny, Fire Department and Rescue Squad Steven Speeney, Fire Department

 5 Years: Spencer Adriananse, Fire Department Vickram Kissoon, Fire Department

Adrian Klige, Fire Department

Anthony Nappe, Public Works and Fire Department

 Richard Sloyan, Fire Department

Anthony Vitelli, Fire Department

Ben Dorkin, Rescue Squad


And the  following resolutions were approved:

R1: Adoption of Rules of Order

R2: Designation of Official Newspapers – Star Ledger, Echoes Sentinel, Courier News, and TAPinto Watchung

R3: Adoption of Annual Calendar of Meeting Dates

R4: Designation of Depositories – Investors Savings Bank

 R5: Re-establish Petty Cash Funds – Borough Clerk, Police Chief

 R6: Payment of Property Taxes and Establishing Payment Procedures

R7: Appointment of Judge - Brian Levine, Esq.

 R8: Appointment of JIF Commissioner - James Damato

R9: Temporary Budget

For entire video of meeting click here

The next regular meeting of the Mayor and Council will be held on Thursday, January 16, 2020 at 7:30 P.M.


TAPinto is free and published daily made possible through sponsorships and advertising. Get Your Town's News In Your Inbox:  Click Here to sign up. Contact for sponsorship and advertising information.

Market Your Business Using TAPinto

Download the TAPinto App!   Click here for Android.  Click here for iOS.

Your Wedding, Christening, Bar/Bat Mitzvah, Graduation, Reunion and MORE on TAPinto Milestones!