PALISADES, N.Y. – The inaugural season for the combined Brewster-Yorktown-Somers-North Salem hockey team has ended with a first-round exit in the Section 1 Division 1 tournament.

Down two goals, the No. 10 BYSNS almost rallied back against No. 7 Clarkstown, but fell to the host, 4-3.

Trailing 3-1 in the second period, the BYSNS cut the Clarkstown lead to one on a goal by Frankie Vigiletti, assisted by Ian Woloshyn and Connor Brooks, before tying it on an unassisted score by Sava Makarenko.

Sign Up for North Salem Newsletter
Our newsletter delivers the local news that you can trust.

BYSNS’ co-coach Joey Bonitatibus said hard work and determination were the keys to the comeback effort.

“They had this drive to win like I’ve only seen in a few games before,” Bonitatibus said. “Smart hockey, dump and chase, with a hard fore-check.”

Clarkstown scored what turned out to be the game-winning goal with just 1:47 remaining in the second period.

Brooks scored the first goal of the playoff contest, in the opening period, courtesy of an assist from Jonathan Graham.

Matt Gergley made 20 saves in goal for the BYSNS.

“I thought the team played extremely well tonight,” Bonitatibus said. “They never gave up, even when they were down. We outshot our opponent (29-24), but unfortunately the pucks didn’t bounce our way. I’m really proud of their last game.”

Overall, Bonitatibus saw the season as a success, for a squad whose players were made up of student-athletes from four different schools.

“This is a bunch of young kids from competing high schools; they don’t know or play with each other,” Bonitatibus said. “The difference between the team that started the season and now is incredible. They support each other, trust each other, and played like a family. We have a lot of returning players, so we will be back to compete even harder next year.”

Monroe Woodbury 11, BYSNS 3
Wednesday, Feb. 19 (Brewster Ice Arena)

Monroe-Woodbury jumped out to a 4-1 first-period lead and continued to build on it, en route to an 11-3 triumph against the host BYSNS.

Hart Nullet (1G, 2A), Sava Makarenko (1G), Jonathan Graham (1G), and Matt Gergley (19 saves) earned their way into the box score for the BYSNS in their regular-season finale.