Press Releases

Fines Stiff For Those Caught Driving Under The Influence

e32d86d536962977dcf9_image.jpeg
Credits: dwiblogs.blogspot.com
e32d86d536962977dcf9_image.jpeg

The State of New Jersey takes driving under the influence (DUI or DWI) very seriously and has imposed harsh penalties on people who break the law. If you are caught driving under the influence of intoxicants or with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08% or higher, you will be cited for (DUI). If you are under 21 years old the legal limit is 0.0.01%. For CDL drivers the limit is 0.04%.

The laws in NJ are quite complex when dealing with a DUI or DWI charges. Not to mention surcharges, points and other penalties given out by the Motor Vehicle Commission.

One of the most important things to know is that New Jersey, like many other states, has an implied consent law. This law requires you to take a breath test. If you refuse and are detained, a blood sample may be taken, and you'll be subject to penalties. If you refuse a chemical test you will lose your license for 7 to 12 months and have to pay a fine from $300 to $500.

Sign Up for E-News

The following are the penalties for driving under the influence; they vary according to BAC level and how many times you've been caught:

First offense with BAC of 0.08% but less than 0.10%:

  • License suspension: 3 months.
  • Imprisonment: Maximum 30 days.
  • Fine: $250 to $400.
  • Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC): Mandatory 12 to 48 hours.
  • Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC) Fee: $230.
  • Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund Fee: $100
  • Drunk Driving Fund: $100
  • Neighborhood Services Fund: $75
  • Surcharges: $1,000 per year for 3 years.

First offense with BAC of 0.10% or higher:

  • License suspension: 7 to 12 months.
  • Imprisonment: Maximum 30 days.
  • Fine: $300 to $500.
  • Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC): Mandatory 12 to 48 hours.
  • Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC) Fee: $230.
  • Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund Fee: $100
  • Drunk Driving Fund: $100
  • Neighborhood Services Fund: $75
  • Surcharges: $1,000 per year for 3 years.
  • Ignition Interlock Device (IID): 6 months to 1 year after license is restored if BAC was 0.15% or over.

First offense DUI under 21 years old:

If you are under 21 years old and you drive with a BAC of anything over 0.01% you may face all of the fines and imprisonments times above and:

  • License suspension: 30 to 90 days.
  • Community service: 15 to 30 days.
  • Mandatory Alcohol and Highway Safety Education with IDRC.

If you are not licensed and under 17 years old at the time of the charges your license processing may take an additional 30 to 90 days.

Second offenses carry harsher imprisonment times as well as higher fines. Visit http://www.state.nj.us/mvc/Violations/dui.htm  to learn more about DUI penalties.

The IDRC

The state has a resource center in every county for first and third offenders and three regional centers for second offenders. Each offender attends an alcohol and highway safety education program at a center and is evaluated for an alcohol or drug problem. If treatment is required then the offender must complete a minimum of 16 weeks in a program.

The offender also has an opportunity to supplement this treatment with attendance at a self-help group. The centers monitor compliance and report any noncompliance to the courts and to Motor Vehicle Commission. Failure to comply on the part of the offender results in further license suspension and a possible jail sentence as well.

The Ignition Interlock Device (IID)

DUI offenders will be required to have a ignition interlock device installed if you BAC was 0.15% or over and or this is not your first DUI. If this is not your first DUI then you may be required to have an IID in your vehicle while your license is suspended and then for 1 to 3 years after your license is restored.

In this situation, the driver must blow into the device, and the vehicle will not start if that person's blood alcohol content exceeds a certain level.

If you are required to have an interlock installed, you must present proof of installation in person at a regional service center for restoration of your driving privilege.

Driver's License Reinstatement

Once your suspension period is over you will receive a Notice of Restoration from the MVC. The first step to restoring your license is to pay the $100 restoration fee. You can do this online, in person or by mail. Once you have paid your fee you will have to complete all the steps for a driver's license renewal and any other requirements on your Notice of Restoration.

Article courtesy of DMV.org, a privately owned website that is not owned or operated by any state government agency.

TAP Into Another Town's News:

You May Also Be Interested In

Sign Up for E-News

Passaic Valley

Upcoming Events

Tue, July 24, 9:15 AM

Totowa Public Library, Totowa

Atlantic City bus trip

Arts & Entertainment

Carousel_image_cd1037d98bd3c7c64e74_seniors_program_1

Tue, July 24, 7:00 PM

Little Falls Public Library, Little Falls

Elder Law and Estate Planning Workshop

Health & Wellness Law & Justice

Tue, August 7, 6:00 PM

Woodland Park

National Night Out

Arts & Entertainment Police & Fire

Tue, August 7, 6:30 PM

Alfred Baumann Library, Woodland Park

Meet a Bagpiper

Arts & Entertainment Education

To Our Current and Future Representatives

July 17, 2018

To Our Current and Future Representatives - Wherever They May Be:

We can never forget we are a nation of immigrants. 

We cannot fall prey to fear, ignorance and anger when we  have been historically driven by freedom and justice. 

We must have the courage and will to fight hate, bigotry and prejudice. 

We must not wake up to what we hoped was a bad dream and ...

Murphy Administration Takes Action to Help Smokers Quit

July 17, 2018

TRENTON, NJ – The Murphy administration on July 16 announced new steps to help New Jersey Medicaid recipients quit using tobacco by making it easier to receive tobacco cessation medications and counseling.

“Tobacco use is the leading preventable cause of death and disease in New Jersey, leading to chronic lung disease, heart disease, stroke and cancer,” said New Jersey Human ...