Home & Garden

Press Releases

Passaic County Schedules Household Hazardous Waste Collection


Passaic County will hold a household hazardous waste collection on Sunday, April 2 from 7:30 a.m. to 2 p.m. rain or shine at the Passaic County Para-Transit facility, 1310 Route 23 north, Wayne, (located behind Ski Barn) This program is free of charge to Passaic County residents only. Proof of residency will be required.

Acceptable Materials for Disposal

The following items must be delivered in marked containers with original labels: pesticides and herbicides, propane tanks, solvents and thinners, varnishes and waxes, corrosives and cleaners, pool chemicals, oil based paints, aerosol cans, kerosene flares, photographic chemicals, fluorescent light bulbs, car batteries, used motor oil and oil filters, antifreeze, old gasoline/oil mix, flares, fire extinguishers and mercury switches and thermometers

Sign Up for E-News

Unacceptable Materials

The following items will not be accepted: explosives, dioxins, medical waste, infectious waste, radioactive material, computers and electronics, tires and appliances, latex paint and household batteries.

Materials must be brought in original containers and/or be clearly marked. Any oil, antifreeze or oil and gas mixtures should be brought in disposable containers.

Regular household alkaline batteries are no longer hazardous. These batteries (AA, AAA, C, D. etc.) may now be disposed of in the regular trash.

Latex paint must be dried out and the cans disposed of in the regular trash in dark colored garbage bags.

For additional information call the Passaic County Recycling Department at 973-305-5738.

TAP Into Another Town's News:

You May Also Be Interested In

Sign Up for E-News

Passaic Valley

Upcoming Events


Sun, June 24, 11:00 AM


MakerFest 2018


Thu, June 28, 6:30 PM

Alfred Baumann Public Library, Woodland Park

College: Know Your Options


Assembly Democratic Bill to Ensure Safety of Special Needs Students on School Buses Clears Assembly Panel 

June 23, 2018

TRENTON, NJ – Legislation sponsored by Assembly Democrats Daniel Benson, Valerie Vainieri Huttle, Reed Gusciora, Ralph Caputo and Andrew Zwicker to protect special needs students who ride school buses was released last week by an Assembly panel. 

This bill (A-4332) would establish a minimum ratio of school bus aides to special needs students on a school bus. The ...