TRENTON, NJ — While a nationwide surge in coronavirus prompted him to not release this week’s travel advisory based on its current criteria, Governor Phil Murphy strongly advised individuals to refrain from nonessential interstate travel and to still self-quarantine for 14 days after traveling to any U.S. state or territory beyond the immediate region of New York, Connecticut, Pennsylvania and Delaware.

“As COVID-19 cases continue to rise at an alarming rate throughout our nation, New Jersey will no longer utilize previously outlined metrics to inform its travel advisory,” he said in a November 25 statement.

The New Jersey Department of Health is expected to issue additional information in the coming days on travel precautions.

Sign Up for Paterson Newsletter
Our newsletter delivers the local news that you can trust.

Launched in June to guard against the spread of the coronavirus across state lines, the advisory has applied to travel to states that have an average daily number of new cases higher than 10 per 100,000 residents over a seven-day period or a 10 percent or higher positivity rate over a seven-day period. The advisory applies to travel from states that meet either of these levels.

When the list was last updated on November 17, all states were included except for New Jersey’s neighboring states and Hawaii, as well as the District of Columbia and the U.S. Virgin Islands.

Sign up for TAPinto E-News alerts to be the first to read about all things local!

Download the FREE TAPinto App!  Click here for Android - Click here for iOS for breaking news, traffic/weather alerts and special offers.