PATERSON, NJ - Last Saturday at the Passaic County Film Festival, Nicole Romero, Nayley Moran and Paul Harris won a prestigious award presented by North Jersey Federal Credit Union Foundation. 

The film festival was held at Fabian 8 Theater in Paterson. Festival viewers watched over 20 short films that were selected as finalists from over 50 films submitted to festival judges. Awards were presented to the top three films in five categories.

In honor of the Festival’s 10th year, North Jersey Federal Credit Union selected and awarded $1,000 to the producers and filmmakers of “Dream Act."  The North Jersey Federal winning filmmaker team from Passaic County Technical Institute will now work with representatives of the credit union to create a 30-second commercial promoting the credit union. The commercial will be aired on local cable network stations in Totowa, Little Falls, and Paterson and will be used to showcase North Jersey Federal’s foundation and its philanthropic work.

Sign Up for E-News

Nicole Romero, a 17-year-old resident of Prospect Park, accepted the award from North Jersey Federal on Saturday on behalf of her team, saying, This is a great opportunity for me. We are really looking forward to working with the credit union staff to produce a meaningful and captivating commercial that will focus on reaching my generation and peers.  It should be a lot of fun."

Nicole and her team including, Nayley Moran, Jennifer Lopez and Paul Harris, submitted and won in two other film categories including High School Music Video and High School Documentary Short Film categories.

The objective of the Passaic County Film Festival is to support student and independent film makers by providing a public forum in which to showcase their work and provide an opportunity to interact with members of the television and filmmaking community.  Qualifying students and independent filmmakers, who live, attend school, or work in Passaic County, submitted films to the festival.

Prizes were awarded to the top three films in five categories, including; University and Independent Short Film Category; High School Documentary Short Film Category; High School Public Service Announcement category; and High School Short Film Category; and High School Music Video Category.