Press Releases

Paterson Mayor-Elect Andre Sayegh Announces Transition Team Leadership

Mayor-Elect Andre Sayegh will be sworn in on July 1.

PATERSON, NJ – Mayor-Elect Andre Sayegh today announced the leadership of his transition team, which will examine the current state of municipal government, make recommendations to improve the efficiency and effectiveness of city services, and help make the necessary preparations for the launch of the new administration on July 1.

“As I said throughout my campaign, we intend to unite this city into One Paterson,” said Mayor-Elect Sayegh. “We will do it, in part, by bringing together talented men and women and working to build a better city government capable of responding to the needs of all Patersonians.”

Vaughn McKoy has agreed to serve as the Transition Team’s chair. McKoy was born and raised in the City of Paterson and has served as Assistant U.S. Attorney and Director of the New Jersey Division of Criminal Justice.

Sign Up for E-News

The Mayor-Elect has also appointed seven co-chairs of the Transition Team who represent Paterson’s diverse population, neighborhoods and civic organizations. The Transition Team Co-Chairs are:


  •       Eli Burgos, former City Business Administrator
  •       Ed Cotton, former Chief of Staff to Bill Pascrell, Jr. when he served as mayor
  •       Rev. Kenneth Clayton, Pastor, St. Luke’s Baptist Church
  •       Bob Guarasci, CEO, New Jersey Community Development Corporation (NJCDC)
  •       Elsa Mantilla, President, Dominican Parade and Festival
  •       Rania Mustafa, Executive Director, Palestinian American Community Center
  •       Ramon Pagan, Co-Pastor, Congregation Rock of Salvation
  •       Jane Williams-Warren, Mayor of Paterson


The Chair and Co-Chairs will oversee 11 different Transition Committees appointed by the Mayor-Elect to review specific areas that are critical to the proper functioning of city government. They are:

Arts, Culture & Tourism:


Sharon Smith, Retired Principal and Educator, Paterson Public Schools

Richard Polton, Managing Director, Integra Realty Resources

Kathy Esquiche, ESL & World Languages Department Chair, International High School, Paterson


Administration, Budget & Finance:


Matt Watkins, Business Administrator, Bloomfield

Jerome St. John, Retired Superior Court Judge


Community & Economic Development:


Michael Powell, Executive Director of Continuing Education & Workforce Development, Passaic County Community College

Barbara Dunn, Executive Director, Paterson Habitat for Humanity

Carlos Medina, Chair, Statewide Hispanic Chamber of Commerce of New Jersey


Environment, Infrastructure & Public Works:


Kenneth Simpson, Supervisor of Roads, County of Passaic

Chris Coke, Director, East Orange Department of Public Works


Health & Human Services:


Dr. Jabeen Ahmed, Business Owner, Sheefa Pharmacy & Medical Center

Kevin J. Slavin, President & CEO, St. Joseph’s Health

Sonia Rosado, Executive Director, Hispanic Multi-Purpose Service Center




Khalifa Shabazz, Esq., Shabazz & Associates, LLC

Baye Wilson, Esq., Rainone Coughlin Minchello, LLC


Recreation, Education & Youth:


Kemper McDowell, Executive Director of Family & Community Engagement, Paterson Public Schools

Rosie Grant, Executive Director, Paterson Education Fund

Javier Fernandez, President, Hijos Y Amigos De Columbia


Public Safety & Prevention:


Richard Reyes, Retired Captain, City of Paterson Police Department

Anthony Ambrose, Public Safety Director, City of Newark

Glenn Brown, Director of Security, Passaic County Community College


Public Authorities:


Kenyatta Stewart Esq., Corporation Counsel, City of Newark

Ferdous Hussain, Senior Analytics and Business Reporting, Novartis


Public Integrity:


Joseph A. Hayden, Jr., Esq., Pashman, Stein, Walder, Hayden

Rev. Douglas Maven, Pastor, First A.M.E. Zion Church


Labor & Workforce Development:


Dr. Steven Rose, President, Passaic County Community College

John Ballantyne, Executive Secretary-Treasurer, Northeast Regional Council of Carpenters


Additional appointments will be made to each of these committees.

Mayor-Elect Sayegh will soon be meeting with the entire Transition Team to examine ways that the incoming administration can operate a smarter, more efficient government with an ability to better deliver services to the people of Paterson.

TAP Into Another Town's News:

You May Also Be Interested In

Sign Up for E-News


Upcoming Events


Tue, June 19, 11:00 AM

Paterson Courthouse Plaza, Paterson

Tuesdays in the Plaza


Tue, June 26, 11:00 AM

Paterson Courthouse Plaza, Paterson

Tuesdays in the Plaza


Sat, June 30, 8:30 AM

Roberto Clemente Park, Paterson

Slam Dunk the Junk


African Heritage Parade a Success

June 18, 2018

Dear Editor: 

I am writing this letter to publicly apologize to the African Heritage Parade Committee and its chief organizer, Ms. Ada Pugh.

I’ll explain why. Throughout the years I have been quite critical of the parade. I would often offer scaving objections to the planning, preparation, and even down to the marching itself. I have a tendency to be tough. I won’t ...

Pascrell, Nadler, Congressional Colleagues Make Surprise Visit to ICE Detention Center to See Separated Families, Jail Conditions

June 18, 2018

ELIZABETH, NJ – This morning, U.S. Representative Bill Pascrell, Jr. (D-NJ-09), and Reps. Jerrold Nadler (D-NY-10), Hakeem Jeffries (D-NY-08), Frank Pallone (D-NJ-06), Carolyn Maloney (D-NY-12), Adriano Espaillat (D-NY-13), and Albio Sires (D-NJ-08) arrived at the ICE Detention Center in Elizabeth, New Jersey on Father’s Day morning and demanded to see the parents of families ...

New Jersey Blood Services Declares Blood Emergency

New Jersey Blood Services/New York Blood Center (NYBC) has declared a blood emergency. The organization is asking people across New York City, the Hudson Valley, Long Island and New Jersey to donate blood to help replenish the blood supply for hospitals throughout the area.


In order to maintain a safe blood supply, a seven-day inventory of all blood types must be continually ...

Sports Betting Is Off And Running in New Jersey

June 15, 2018

OCEANPORT, NJ — Governor Phil Murphy officially ushered in sports betting in New Jersey when he made the initial wager at Monmouth Park  on June 14.

Governor Murphy, an avid soccer fan who has called ESPN’s “Sportscenter” his favorite show, placed the first bet  — $20 on Germany to win the World Cup. He also bet $20 on the N.J. Devils to ...

Bloomfield Parents Protest Board of Education Decision to add Armed Guards to All Public Schools

BLOOMFIELD, NJ - Emotions ran high prior to and during tonight’s Board of Education meeting at Bloomfield High School.

Prior to the regularly scheduled meeting, about 25 parents protested outside of the main entrance with signs expressing their disapproval of the placing of armed guards in all district schools.  Several parents had megaphones, while many drivers passing by on ...

Senator Pou’s Statement on Hurricane Maria Evacuee Session

June 9, 2018

PATERSON, NJ- Senator Nellie Pou (D-Paterson) released the following statement regarding the Hurricane Maria Evacuee session to be held on Monday, June 11, in Paterson:


I am happy that we are able to bring these types of informational sessions to the residents of Paterson and surrounding areas to ensure that Hurricane Maria evacuees are made aware of the programs available to them ...