PATERSON, NJ - The New Jersey Division on Civil Rights  announced on December 6  that it will be closing its regional office in Paterson, effective December 17.

 The Paterson office received an average of five new civil rights complaints per month over the past three years, fewest among the Division’s five regional offices, according to a press release issued by Director Chinh Q. Le.

Sign Up for E-News

The office currently has five full-time employees – a manager, two investigators and two support staff -- making it the smallest of the Division’s five offices presently in operation.

According to Director Le, personnel assigned to the Paterson office will be reassigned to the Division’s Newark office. All cases previously assigned to Paterson will also be handled by the Newark office. The Newark office – along with the Division’s three other regional offices in Trenton, Camden and Atlantic City – will continue to operate as usual.

The Newark office is located at 31 Clinton Street, 3rd Floor, Newark. The other three regional locations are as follows: Trenton -- 140 East Front Street, 6th Floor, Trenton; Camden -- 1 Port Center, 4th Floor, 2 Riverside Drive, Suite 402, Camden; Atlantic City -- 26 South Pennsylvania Avenue, 3rd Floor, Atlantic City.