PISCATAWAY, NJ – The Piscataway Chiefs hosted rival schools from across the county at the 2017 Greater Middlesex County Wrestling Tournament in the Anthony Gym on Friday and Saturday, placing 2nd overall with 167 points.

Advancing to the finals round for the Chiefs were Joseph Hatcher (152)who shut-out Edison High School’s Peter Tomasino, 8-0 and Michael Petite (160) who defeated Marquan Payne from Woodbridge, 9-0 putting Piscataway just 2.5 points ahead of 3rd place Monroe.

But all eyes were on the powerhouse South Plainfield Tigers who took home their 9th consecutive title win with 246 points as Zach DelVecchio, a repeat GMC champion pinned Cateret’s Farhan Khan in the 220 lb. competition at 3:02 to end the tournament.

Sign Up for E-News


106: Tommy Fierro (South Plainfield) decision Joe Pacheco (Perth Amboy) 2-0
113: Mitchell Polito (East Brunswick) decision Jake Wiatroski (Old Bridge) 7-3
120: Joe Heilmann (South Plainfield) decision Mark Schleifer (East Brunswick) 4-3
126: Jake Giordano (South Plainfield) decision Alec Gleason (East Brunswick) 7-2
132: Aaron Coleman (Iselin Kennedy) decision Luke Pero (Colonia) 7-3
138: Joe Sacco (South Plainfield) decision Bob Dinger (Middlesex) 3-2 TB
145: Nick Lombard (Monroe) decision Jeff Johnson (Middlesex) 3-2
152: Joseph Hatcher (Piscataway) decision Peter Tomasino (Edison) 8-0
160: Michael Petite (Piscataway) decision Marquan Payne (Woodbridge) 9-0
170: Zack Cottrell (Woodbridge) decision Nick Recine (Piscataway) 5-3
182: Bryan McLaughlin (Woodbridge) pin Sean Aston (Iselin Kennedy) 2:10
195: Luke Niemeyer (South Plainfield) decision Andrew Brazicki (Bishop Ahr) 3-1 SV
220: Zach Delvecchio (South Plainfield) pin Farhan Khan (Carteret) 3:02
285: Michael Porcaro (Sayreville) decision Alex LaGrippo (Woodbridge) 4-3 UTB


1-South Plainfield 246 
2-Piscataway 167 
3-Monroe 164.5
4-Woodbridge 147.5 
5-Perth Amboy 89.5
6-Edison 80
6-East Brunswick 80
8-Middlesex 70
9-Iselin Kennedy 67.5
10-Bishop Ahr 65
11-Sayreville 63 
12-Carteret 57 
13-New Brunswick 55
14-Old Bridge 52 
15-Colonia 50
16-South Brunswick 41.5 
17-North Brunswick 26.5 
18-Spotswood 27
19-South River 20 
20-J.P. Stevens 17
21-Metuchen 5 
22-Highland Park 0


3rd place: Jonathan Lamprecht (South Brunswick) major decision Michael O’Brien (Edison) 19-7
5th place: Xavier Laracuente (Woodbridge) forfeit Joseph Dulog (Piscataway)
7th place: Joey Fiordaliso (Monroe) pin Arun Chezian (Metuchen) 5:51 

3rd place: Nick DePalma (Monroe) pin Maximus Parra (Piscataway) 3:16
5th place: Alex Amato (South Plainfield) decision Gaven Ringwood (Bishop Ahr) 9-3 
7th place: Ian Coleman (Iselin Kennedy) pin Demetri Wojciechowski (J.P. Stevens) 1:49

3rd place: Norberto Torres (Perth Amboy) pin Mike Botte (Old Bridge) 3:59
5th place: Dave Loniewski (Bishop Ahr) decision Mike Bilardo (Monroe) 3-2
7th place: Troy O’Connor (Middlesex) decision Erick Valentine (Piscataway) 5-2

3rd place: Dylan O’Connor (Bishop Ahr) decision Andy Lombard (Monroe) 4-3 
5th place: Mathew Castimore (South Brunswick) pin Alexis Soriano (Perth Amboy) 4-2
7th place: Mark Pacheco (South River) decision Julian Burke (Edison) 4-3

3rd place: James Rodriguez (Perth Amboy) decision Jacob Painton (South Plainfield) 3-1
5th place: Trevor Mastorio (Sayreville) decision Steve Piszar (Monroe) 7-2
7th place: Dylan Ur (Old Bridge) decision Lance Vargas (J.P. Stevens) 6-2

3rd place: Donny Albach (Monroe) decision Jack Quinn (Woodbridge) 3-2
5th place: Marcus Petite (Piscataway) pin Sergio Maglione (Iselin Kennedy) 5:59
7th place: Michael Lopez (Perth Amboy) wins by forfeit over Alex Coelho (Sayreville)

3rd place: John Poznanski (Colonia) pin Kyle Bythell (South Plainfield) 1:35
5th place: Gabriel Rodrigues (Piscataway) decision Ryan Naiduk (Edison) 3-1
7th place: Matt Jasinski (J.P. Stevens) major decision Yarinel Peralta (New Brunswick) 11-2

3rd place: Shea Obado (Spotswood) decision Hunter Kiraly (Woodbridge) 5-3
5th place: Ian McCabe (Monroe) decision Christian Pinto (New Brunswick) 7-5
7th place: Jake Hoffman (South Plainfield) pin Cullen McCardle (North Brunswick) 5:38

3rd place: Ben Lundy (South Plainfield) decision Corey Knoth (Sayreville) 3-2
5th place: Nick Weikel (Monroe) won by forfeit over Chris Dessino (Middlesex)
7th place: TJ Angstadt (Old Bridge) major decision Giovanni Magee (Iselin Kennedy) 9-1

3rd place: Kenny Abode (North Brunswick) decision Adalfi Jimenez (Perth Amboy) 5-1
5th place: Michael LeRoy (Spotswood) decision Justin Hopman (Monroe) 4-3
7th place: Jeffrey Garcia (New Brunswick) pin Tim Grigoryans (Old Bridge) 4:28

3rd place: Ryan Marston (South Plainfield) decision Demetrius Ruiz (Carteret) 1-0
5th place: Kyle Baszak (South River) decision Gus Palacio (South Brunswick) 6-4
7th place: Shane Zullinger (Middlesex) wins by forfeit over Elijah Pitt-Goodson (Piscataway)

3rd place: Kaylon Bradley (Monroe) decision Javon Mercado (New Brunswick) 6-4
5th place: Nick Nyers (Woodbridge) decision Paris Foster (Piscataway) 5-4
7th place: Frank Coghan (Carteret) pin Christian Irizarry (Colonia) 1:22

3rd place: Samuel Rogers (Piscataway) decision Christopher Cuevas (Edison) 11-2
5th place: Benedict Arthur (Sayreville) decision Taylor Tiongson (East Brunswick) 2-1
7th place: Keshon Davila (New Brunswick) wins by forfeit

3rd place: Lou Ceras (Monroe) decision Jack Karvaski (Edison) 6-1 SV
5th place: Ramiro Osuna (New Brunswick) pin David Pierre (Carteret) 2:39
7th place: David Greene (Piscataway) pin Alex Bollin (Middlesex) 0:54

TAPintoPiscataway.net is an online newspaper serving the Township of Piscataway. Sign up for our FREE daily eNews and follow us on Facebook and Twitter @PiscatawayTAP.

Businesses: Advertise with TAPinto Piscataway. Click here for more information.