PISCATAWAY, NJ — The Piscataway Board of Education marked the start of the new year with their annual reorganization meeting on Thursday where four members were sworn in to begin new terms.

Board secretary, David Oliveira administered the oath of office for newcomers Brenda Smith and Calvin Laughlin, a detective with the Piscataway Police Department. They join incumbent Ralph Johnson with 3-year terms.

Kimberly Lane, another newcomer, was sworn-in to serve a 1-year term. Lane will be required to run for re-election this November, vying for a 3-year term.  

Sign Up for Piscataway Newsletter
Our newsletter delivers the local news that you can trust.

A new board president was also elected at the meeting.

Shelia Hobson, who joined the board in 2019 takes the helm for 2020 with Nitang Patel winning the vice presidency.

TAPinto is free and published daily made possible through sponsorships and advertising. Get Your Town's News in Your Inbox:  Click Here to sign up. Contact piscataway@tapinto.net for sponsorship and advertising information.

Market Your Business Using TAPinto

Download the TAPinto App!   Click here for Android.  Click here for iOS.