PISCATAWAY, NJ – Middlesex County elections officials continue to count ballots cast in the 2020 General Election. 

With the new Vote-By-Mail process and provisional in-person paper ballot voting for this year’s General Election, they said:

“These results are partial and unofficial, and will continue to be updated as mail-in ballots are received through November 10th, and provisional ballots are tabulated post November 11th. Per P.L. 2020 C.72, the results of the November 2020 General Election shall be certified by the County Board of Canvassers on or before November 20, 2020.​”

Sign Up for Piscataway Newsletter
Our newsletter delivers the local news that you can trust.

The updated unofficial results as reported by Middlesex County Elections Officials on Friday, November 13 for Piscataway voters:

On the national level, Democrat Joe Biden wins New Jersey in the race for President over incumbent President Donald Trump with more than 60% of the votes across the county.

On the local level, Brian C. Wahler retains his seat in the Mayor’s Office capturing 15,270 or 71% of the votes. His Republican challenger, Brajesh Singh received 6,072 or 28.23% of the votes. Elections officials also show 165 votes cast for write-in candidates who were not named.

Incumbents Gabrielle Cahill, Chanelle Scott-McCullum, and Kapil Shah will serve another term on the Township Council defeating their Republican challengers Jan Braverman, William C. Hopkins, and Dhimant Patel. Cahill received 15,233 (24.79%), Scott-McCullum 15,109 (24.08%), and Shah 14,855 (23.67%) of the votes, as Braverman recorded 5,906 (9.41%), Hopkins 5,783 (9.22%), and Patel 5,705 9.09%).

In the run for three seats on the Piscataway Board of Education, the unofficial results show incumbents Shantell Cherry and Kimberly Lane and returning to their seats with Cherry at 10,292 or (18.27%) of the votes, and Lane receiving 9,654 or (17.14%).

2020 Piscataway High School alum Zoe Scotto, the youngest candidate in the race takes the third seat with 9,606 or 16.35% of the votes.

However, with incumbent Thomas Connors, and challengers Lynnel Edmundo and Parth Desai also capturing over 8,000 votes each, additional ballot counting could change the outcome of the race in the coming week.

In the race for Middlesex County Clerk, Nancy J. Pinkin defeats Joseph C. Wolak with 67% of the votes while incumbents Charles Tomaro and Leslie Koppel retain their seats on the Middlesex County Board of Chosen Freeholders.

Senator Corey Booker will see another term on Capitol Hill, as does Congressman Frank Pallone, Jr. who returns to the House of Representatives, 6th District.

Voters across New Jersey also had to decide on three public questions on this year’s ballot, voting ‘Yes’ to legalize recreational marijuana, and to have property tax deductions and exemptions in place for veterans wounded during times of peace. There will also be a constitutional amendment to change the legislative redistricting schedule if census data is delayed.

TAPinto is free and published daily made possible through sponsorships and advertising. Get Your Town's News in Your Inbox:  Click Here to sign up. Contact piscataway@tapinto.net for sponsorship and advertising information.