WESTFIELD, NJ -- Sister  Maureen Fichner, SSJ, Principal of Holy Trinity School in Westfield, announced that the following students have completed the prescribed course of study and were awarded diplomas on Friday June 10, 2016, in a graduation ceremony held at Holy Trinity Church:

  • Gabriel Abood
  • Madeleine Abood
  • Sadie Abood
  • Jacqueline Ayers
  • Catherine Blowe
  • Patrick Blowe
  • Jessica Bober
  • Catherine Boccher
  • Daniel Cao
  • Kai Chiang
  • Patrick Corrao
  • Grace Cull
  • Joseph Del Sol
  • Daniela Esposito
  • Benjamin Ferencich
  • Alexander Gray
  • Abbey Kelly
  • Amy Moore
  • Andrea Morin
  • Peter Munkittrick
  • Michael O’Neill
  • Stephanie Parma
  • Stephanie Posada
  • Declan Sheehan
  • Brendan Sosinski
  • Louisa Sperrazza
  • Sydney Wellington

During the ceremony, several awards were presented to members of the graduating class.

The General Excellence Medal was awarded to Sadie Abood. First Honors and Presidential Gold Awards were presented to Catherine Blowe, Amy Moore, Madeleine Abood, Daniel Cao, Andrea Morin, Louisa Sperrazza, Patrick Blowe and Abbey Kelly.  The following earned Second Honors and Presidential Awards:  Stephanie Posada, Grace Cull, Gabriel Abood, Daniela Esposito, Brendan Sosinski, Catherine Boccher, Sydney Wellington, Jacqueline Ayers, and Alexander Gray.  Presidential Silver Awards were presented to Jessica Bober and Michael O’Neill.

Sign Up for E-News

The Msgr. Henry J. Watterson Award for Religion was presented to Abbey Kelly.  Subject awards were won by Amy Moore (Language Arts), Louisa Sperrazza (Algebra), Daniel Cao (Science), Andrea Morin (French), Patrck Blowe (Spanish), Gabriel Abood (History), Grace Cull (Computer Science), and Sadie Abood (Art).

The Daughters of the American Revolution Good Citizenship Medals went to Daniel Cao and Andrea Morin. The Home and School Association presented the Christian Leadership Award to Sadie Abood.  Scholar Athlete Awards were given to Alexander Gray and Sadie Abood. Abbey Kelly and Gabriel Abood were presented with prizes for winning the N.J. Respect Life Essay Contest. The Rich Dursee Memorial Award was presented to Grace Cull.  Jessica Bober was presented with the Mulzoff/Taylor Scholarship, and Madeleine Abood won the Pantano Family Foundation Scholarship.   

The following schools extended admission to the Class of 2016: Mount Saint Mary Academy, Mother Seton Regional High School, St. Peter’s Preparatory School, St. Joseph High School, Oratory Preparatory School, Union Catholic Regional High School, and the Union County Vocational-Technical Schools. The Class of 2016 received over $550,000 in scholarships. Two students, Daniel Cao and Alexander Gray, earned the prestigious Sheehan Scholarship providing for full four-year tuition to St. Peter’s Preparatory School in Jersey City.

TAPintoSPF.net is Scotch Plains-Fanwood’s only free daily paper. Sign up for our daily eNews and follow us on Facebook and twitter @SPF_TAP.