UNION COUNTY, NJ — Freeholder Chair Bette Jane Kowalski, Freeholder Sergio Granados, and Freeholder Rebecca Williams have been re-elected to the county’s Board of Chosen Freeholders, official election results show. All three freeholders will serve three-year terms beginning in 2020.

A total of five candidates ran for three seats on the freeholder board. The three democratic incumbents faced challenges from Republicans Peter Kane and Glenn Gelband.

The official election results are as follows:

Sign Up for Plainfield Newsletter
Our newsletter delivers the local news that you can trust.

  • Bette Jane Kowalski (Dem) – 47,786 votes (23.97% of all votes)
  • Sergio Granados (Dem) – 46, 529 votes (23.34% of all votes)
  • Rebecca Williams (Dem) – 48,789 votes (24.47% of all votes)
  • Peter Kane (Rep) – 28,075 votes (14.08% of all votes)
  • Glenn Gelband (Rep) – 27,761 votes (13.93% of all votes)
  • Write-in candidate – 415 votes (0.21% of all votes)

Kowalski, who currently serves as Freeholder Chair, was first elected to the freeholder board in 2004 and previously served as Freeholder Chair in 2007.

“Congratulations to my colleagues, and also to all who put their names forward to run in this past election,” Kowalski said at the freeholder board meeting November 14. “On behalf of the board, we all look forward to working with all of the newly-elected and the elected officials in the service of the people of Union County.”

Granados became the youngest freeholder ever elected to the board in 2013 and is currently serving his second term. He served as Freeholder Chair in 2018.

“I wish congratulations to each one of you, along with all of the individuals who won county-wide and across our country, who are hopefully working together for the betterment of our residents,” Granados said.

Williams joined the freeholder board in 2018, following former Freeholder Linda Carter’s departure to the state Assembly. Williams was elected by unanimous consent during a special election at the Union County Democratic Committee convention in June 2018.

“I want to congratulate you both, as well as everyone across the county,” Williams said. “Public service can be difficult, and I really appreciate the opportunity to serve, and I just want to thank my colleagues. I couldn’t ask for better running mates.”

During the meeting, the remaining members of the freeholder board expressed congratulations to the winners.

“As I predicted, Chair Kowalski, Freeholder Granados, and Freeholder Williams were reelected because of the work that they do, and the hard work and time commitment. The residents and the voters responded very well, as I thought they would, to their candidacy,” said Freeholder Vice Chair Alexander Mirabella. “I look forward to working together with them.”

“It’s been a privilege to serve with the three of you, and I know you’re going to continue to do great things for Union County,” said Freeholder Christopher Hudak.

Also at the county level, County Surrogate James LaCorte won re-election to another five-year term, receiving 48,634 votes (64.99% of all votes). He won against Republican challenger Peter Lijoi, who received 26,140 votes (34.93% of all votes). Kowalski congratulated LaCorte during the meeting.

“I’d like to congratulate Union County Surrogate James LaCorte on his re-election to another term, and my appreciation to him for campaigning with us,” Kowalski said.

RELATEDIt's Official, Plainfield, County Releases Final Election Results

Official election results for previous primaries and general elections can be viewed on the county website.