Randolph’s Sydney Ugalde to Head Group

The Morris County Young Republicans (MCYR) organization has chosen its new executive team, with Sydney Ugalde of Randolph selected to serve as the group’s 2018 chair.

Filling out the executive team are Kevin Staley of Mendham Borough, Vice Chair; Julie Lapatka of Boonton Township, Treasurer; Joseph Bock of Boonton, Secretary; Justin Musella of Morris Township, State Committeeman; and Tia Fritze of Roxbury, State Committeewoman. 

Sign Up for E-News

Bock served as MCYR Chairman for 2016 and 2017.

Ugalde, 21, is a senior at the College of Saint Elizabeth. She is a member of the Municipal Alliance Committee in Randolph and the Randolph Township Republican Committee, and is considering a career in law and policy. 

As chair, she plans to work to increase MCYR membership and to encourage existing members to become more involved as campaign volunteers to help elect Republicans candidates in Morris County and throughout New Jersey in 2018.  

Numerous Republican elected officials expressed their enthusiasm about the choice of Sydney Ugalde to lead the Young Republicans.

Sydney is an outstanding young woman who has the ability to re-energize the young Republicans residents of Morris County, to help maintain the solid Republican leadership that has made Morris County that best place to live in New Jersey,’’ said Morris County Freeholder Doug Cabana

These young men and women offer an energy and enthusiasm which portends a great future for continued Republican Party leadership in Morris County for decades to come,’’ said Morris County Sheriff James Gannon. 

Congratulations to Sydney Ugalde, who hails from my hometown, and to the entire impressive slate of Young Republican leaders for 2018,’’said Randolph Republican Municipal Chair and former Mayor Roman Hirniak. 

The Morris County chapter of the Young Republicans is one of the most influential in the state, and is affiliated with the New Jersey Young Republican Federation and the Young Republican National Federation. 

In 2017, the Morris County Young Republicans held monthly meetings throughout the county, including forums featuring Republican candidates for Governor, Freeholder, and the State Legislature. 

During the 2017 summer and fall, MCYR members were actively involved in various  Republican campaigns and two members, Brian Bergen of Denville and Michael Inganamort of Chester Township, won seats on their local municipal governing bodies.

The Morris County Young Republicans 2018 Executive Board formally took the oath of office its Christmas Party on Thursday, Dec.21 at the Mountain Lakes Club in Mountain Lakes. This event, sponsored by Rep. Rodney Frelinghuysen, was attended by over 120 Morris County Republicans, including numerous Elected Officials. 

The Morris County Young Republicans are actively recruiting for new members. Any registered Republican in Morris County between the ages of 18-40 can become a member of the Morris County Young Republicans by paying yearly dues of $35.

For more information on the MCYR, visit: https://www.morriscountyyoungrepublicans.com/