RANDOLPH, NJ- After transitioning from the Babe Ruth League into the Little League 14U All- Stars, Randolph beat an annual nemesis in Par troy East for the District 1 championship.

The championship was a best of three, in which Randolph swept the series taking game by a score of 5-1, and locking down the title with a 7-3 victory in game two.

"Over the last few weeks these boys have worked extremely hard, with a common goal to win,” said manager Craig Eagleson.  “With the help of Coach Ryan Hallock from the Freshmen high school team, the boys have not only developed but they have raised their level of play.“

Sign Up for E-News

Mickey Swenson and Paul Recchia dominated on the mound as starting pitchers, as Swenson struck out five batters and allowed one run in the opener, while Recchia picked up seven strikeouts and held Par Troy to only two runs in game two. Dan Hamilton closed out the game with a tremendous two inning save in the championship game.

Hamilton got the scoring started in game one with a monster triple deep to right center, putting Randolph ahead and they never looked back.

Randolph’s bats came alive right out of the gate in the first inning of game two, knocking in four runs to jump out to an early lead, highlighted by Paul Recchia's triple.

Matia Clement was a run producing machine, hammering three doubles while picking up five RBI’s in the championship game.    

The Sectional Tournament starts July 15th in Madison, and if Randolph can advance, they will find themselves in the state tournament which starts out in Lyndhurst.

“We are playing fundamental sound baseball and even though there were some standouts every boy on the team has contributed,” said Eagleson. “This group is excited to continue to play, and we are working together as a team.  Coach Tamres, Coach Cox, and I are all proud to be a part of this with them."

The team Roster: Mickey Swenson, Paul Recchia, Matia Clement, Dan Hamilton, Eric Recchia, Connor McDermott, Dylan Haun, Brendan Cox, D.J. Della-Badia, Aidan Lavin, Nick Kuridza, Matthew Dobres, Sam Steinfink, JJ Tamres.