MORRISTOWN, NJ -  When calling 9-1-1 from either a cell phone or land line, operators have only your phone number and general sense of location to help you. Now residents in Randolph and twenty two other towns in Morris County can sign up for Smart 911 which makes first responders more aware of details they would not have known previously.

Smart911 is a free service that gives first responders key information that can make the difference between life and death in an emergency. 

According to authorities, over 70 percent of emergency calls come from cell phones and when a person makes an emergency call, their Smart911 profile will be transmitted to the 911 center. This will allow the 911 call taker to send the right response teams to the correct location with correct information.

Sign Up for E-News

Do you have a disabled person living in your home? Do you have an aggressive pet? Where is the shut-off valve to your natural gas flow? How can authorities access your home? Number of family members, ages and photos of children as well as specific medical conditions that would aid first responders. Information like this can be listed in a safety profile at Residents can list as much or as little information as they want.

“This is an important safety tool that we can provide to residents in towns served by the Morris County Communications Center, which has the technology in place to immediately offer free Smart911 service,’’ said Morris County Freeholder Director Doug Cabana.

The Morris County Communications Center currently provides public service answering for 23 towns under the network. Those towns include Morristown, Morris Township, Morris Plains, Boonton Township, Chatham, Chatham Township, Dover, East Hanover, Harding, Long Hill, Mendham, Mendham Township, Mine Hill, Mountain Lakes, Mount Arlington, Netcong, Randolph, Rockaway Borough, Roxbury, Victory Gardens and Wharton. 

“Residents easily sign up in just a few minutes at If an emergency occurs, you’ll be glad you took the time,’’ added Michael Peoples, director of the Communications Division of the Morris County Department of Law and Public Safety.