TRENTON, NJ — Travelers making their way back to the Garden State from over a dozen states have been advised to self-quarantine for a minimum of 14 days due to the rise of COVID-19 cases — a list that as of Tuesday also includes Delaware, Kansas and Oklahoma. 

Gov. Phil Murphy and State Health Commissioner Judy Persichilli warned Monday of pocketed outbreaks resulting from individuals visiting areas in the midst of case spikes.

“In order to responsibly continue down our road back to restart and recovery, we must remain vigilant in our collective effort to beat the virus and reduce the rate of transmission,” said Murphy this morning. “I urge those arriving from one of these nineteen states to self-quarantine and get a COVID-19 test to prevent additional flare-ups across the state and ensure the health and safety of their fellow New Jerseyans.” 

Sign Up for Randolph Newsletter
Our newsletter delivers the local news that you can trust.

States with positive test rates higher than 10 per 100,000 (or a 10% higher positive rate over a 7-day rolling average) currently also includes: Alabama; Arkansas; Arizona; California; Florida; Georgia; Iowa; Idaho; Louisiana; Mississippi; North Carolina; Nevada; South Carolina; Tennessee; Texas; and Utah.

If you’re returning from any of the above areas, you are instructed to isolate at home, your hotel or other available location — breaking self-quarantine only to tend to a medical emergency or obtain essential items.   

“Travelers and residents returning from impacted states typically will not need to check in with public health officials, unless otherwise they are involved in contract tracing efforts or required to do so by their employer or any other federal, state or local law or order,” state officials said in a statement.

For an updated list of states impacted by the travel advisory click here.