TRENTON, NJ — Minnesota, New Mexico, Ohio and Wisconsin have been added to New Jersey’s travel quarantine, while neighboring Delaware has been removed — based on the rise of coronavirus cases in those states.

Gov. Phil Murphy on July 14 advised individuals traveling to New Jersey from a total of 22 states with significant community spread of COVID-19 to self-quarantine for a 14-day period from the time of last contact within the identified state.

The advisory now includes these states: Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, California, Florida, Georgia, Iowa, Idaho, Kansas, Louisiana, Minnesota, Mississippi, North Carolina, New Mexico, Nevada, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah and Wisconsin.

Sign Up for Red Bank Newsletter
Our newsletter delivers the local news that you can trust.

The travel advisory applies to any person arriving from a state with a positive test rate higher than 10 per 100,000 residents or a state with a 10 percent or higher positivity rate over a seven-day rolling average.

“We must remain vigilant and committed to our collective effort of beating COVID-19 and reducing the rate of transmission throughout New Jersey,” Murphy said in a press release. “In order to continue moving forward with New Jersey’s restart and recovery process, I strongly urge individuals arriving from these 22 states to self-quarantine and proactively get a COVID-19 test to prevent hotspots from flaring up across our state.”

Travelers and those residents who are returning from impacted states should self-quarantine at their home, hotel, or other temporary lodging. Individuals should leave the place of self-quarantine only to seek medical care/treatment or to obtain food and other essential items. 

It is expected that individuals will follow the public health advisory to self-quarantine.

Click here for updates on states included in the travel advisory.