ROSELLE/ROSELLE PARK, NJ - The polls have closed and sounds of cheering echoed from the Roselle Democratic Headquarters in Roselle on Tuesday evening as a tight race for Mayor came to a close with Roselle Mayor Christine Dansereau taking the vote by a large margin. The entire Column A Team won and those gathered in Roselle headed off to ‘The Lobby” in Elizabeth to celebrate with their colleagues after a brief celebration with their local supporters. 

With most of the votes counted here is a break down of the winners.

All results are unofficial until all votes including absentee ballots are counted!

Sign Up for E-News


Mayoral Race:

(D)Christine Dansereau wins over opponent (D)Ceicilia Ricks 

(R) No Petition Filed

Council At Large:

(D)Reginald Atkins wins over opponent (D)Anthony Esposito

(R) No Petition Filed

2nd Ward:

(D)Carla Walker wins over opponent (D)Sylvia Turnage

(R) No Petition Filed

5th Ward:

(D)Sam Bishop wins over opponent (D)Brian Bullock

(R) No Petition Filed

In Other Races,

General Assembly:

Democratic Candidates: Annette Quijano, Jamel C. Holley win over opponents A.Tony Monteiro, Jorge Batista, Gullano Farina, Vivan Bell

Republican Candidates: Stephen Kozlovich and Roger Stryeski win in an uncontested race. 

County Clerk: 

(D)Joanne Rajoppi win in an uncontested race.

(R)Joseph Aubourg win in an uncontested race. 

Board of Chosen Freeholders:

Democratic Candidates: Alexander Mirabella, Mohamed Jalloh, Burce Bergen wins over opponent Diana Escobar, Eric Kulick and Fabiola Rios. 

Republican Candidates: Rene’ Dierkes, Richard Fornunato and Joseph Bonilla win in an uncontested race.

Male Member of County Committee:

(D)Reginald Atkins wins over opponent (D)Seaton Samuel

Female Member of County Committee:

(D)Cynthia Atkins win in an uncontested race.



All candidates were in an uncontested race.

2nd ward:  

Joseph Alfano (R)

Joseph Petroski (D)

5th Ward:

Thos Shipley (R)

Richard Templeton  (D)