ROSELLE, NJ - The winners of the #KeepRoselleBeautiful photo campaign, and local crossing guards were honored with certificates of appreciation at the Roselle Borough Council Meeting on Aug. 22. 

Through the #KeepRoselleBeautiful campaign, the Borough of Roselle asked all commercial and residential property owners to help preserve and promote the beauty of Roselle through a photo contest. For the months of April and May, residents submitted photos of themselves cleaning up their yards, cleaning up around the borough, and fertilizing or gardening for a chance to win first place. 

The winners are: Minerva Rosa, first place, Larry Morgan, second place, Dr. Charles Elementary School, first place, Lauren Klopfenstein, second place youth, and our honorable mentions, Gladys Garcia, Sarita Borbon and Ivone Cornejo. 

Sign Up for Roselle/Roselle Park Newsletter
Our newsletter delivers the local news that you can trust.

The awards were presented by council president Denise Wilkerson who said she was pleased with the number of residents who decided to #KeepRoselleBeautiful. 

“This contest was really about an attitude; an attitude to take care of Roselle and to make sure that our community stays beautiful,” she said at the meeting. 

Mayor Christine Dansereau also thanked all of the residents and local businesses for their participation in this year’s first #KeepRoselleBeatuiful campaign. 

“Thank you to our residents for truly keeping Roselle beautiful and for participating in our first ever photo campaign,” she said. “I look forward to this contest returning next year for even more gardening fun,” said Dansereau. 

Also recognized at the meeting were more than two dozen crossing guards for their dedication to keeping Roselle youth safe, and were presented with certificates from the office of Sen. Joseph Cryan, Assemblywoman Annette Quijano, and Assemblyman Jamel Holley.  The Certificates were presented by Second Ward Councilman Brandon Bernier on behalf of the state representatives. 

Those honored include: Charles Allen, Brendalie Blondel, Arthur Boone, Ezra Brown, Gerline Carpenter, Leroy Cokley, Anthony Delfino, Raymond Drewniany, Mary Dunston, Deborah Emanuel, Rickey Graham, Delcia Hoffman, Linder Joyner, Linda McArthur, Star McDowell, Hakima McNeal, Michelle Nowlin, James Pressely, Madelin Rivera, Rafael Rivera, Veronica Rose, Cerise Simmons, Lendie Terado, Diahann Trent and Lou Vata Williams. 

Parking Enforcement Officers, Laurie Harrod, and Sherry Flowers, who fills in as crossing guards when needed, were also honored. and is the official electronic news source for your town! To get your free daily Roselle or Roselle Park news, click on your town. 

Sign up for our daily e-news!

Download the TAPinto App!   Click here for Android.  Click here for iOS.