ROXBURY, NJ – A trio of Roxbury School Board members were randomly selected Monday to appear on the November election ballot above two challengers, giving them what some consider an advantage on Election Day.

A sealed capsule containing a slip of paper that bore the names of the three incumbents, Heather Champagne, Joseph Bocchino and Anne Colucci, was drawn for the top position by Morris County Clerk Ann Grossi. The drawing, normally a public event, instead took place live on Facebook due to COVID-19 restrictions.

Below the three current board members will appear on the ballot the names of Sharon MacGregor and Ralph Casendino, Jr. Neither has held public office in the past, according to their candidacy biographies.

Sign Up for Roxbury Newsletter
Our newsletter delivers the local news that you can trust.

In her biography, MacGregor says she is a web design/content management consultant who has been a Roxbury resident for about three years. Casendino is a sergeant with the Fairfield Police Department who has lived in Roxbury since 2013.

The five people are seeking election to 3-year terms on the 10-member school board.

Champagne, of Landing, and Colucci and Bocchino, both of Succasunna, were elected in 2017. They replaced former board members (who did not seek re-election) Patricia Miller, James Monaghan, Jr. and David Ramage.

Make sure you don’t miss any Roxbury news! Click here to sign-up for our free, daily e-newsletter.

Please “like” and “follow” our Facebook Page and Twitter feed.

TAPinto Roxbury is free to read, funded entirely by business advertising.

Want to help support local journalism and promote your business to thousands of community-minded readers? Become a TAPinto Roxbury sponsor! Call 862-259-2448 or click here.

To send press releases, classified ads, items for the event calendar, “Milestones” announcements, etc., look for the “Submit Content” link on the homepage.